Lucy’s List – July (week 1)

OH MY GOD, IT’S TOO HOT! I don’t like it. I don’t like doing three school runs in this heat. I don’t like sweat – back sweat, under boob sweat, sweat of the nether regions (it’s not just me, is it?!), or even *shudder* other people’s sweat! Ugh. I don’t like sun cream. Sticky, greasy sun cream on my clammy, hot children. I don’t like the extra washing. I don’t like flies coming in through my open windows. I don’t like getting tangled in my bedding and thrashing about trying to sleep and failing. I don’t like eejits driving like utter plonkers with their soft tops down, their engines revving, and their chav music blaring. I don’t like drippy, sticky, melty ice lollies in the hands of my youngest child. I don’t like the blisters from that pair of sandals that were mega comfy last year but this year seem to be made from barbed wire. I don’t like the burning thigh chaffage I get if I wear a dress. I don’t like all the grass and dead things floating in the padding pool.

I DON’T LIKE IT.

*deep breath*

And here’s what I ate last week when my house wasn’t a furnace…

 

MONDAY: slow cooker brisket with rich, chunky veg gravy, sweet potato chips, and horseradish

image

TUESDAY: spicy slow cooker red lentil, sweet potato and chickpea stew with couscous

image

WEDNESDAY: homemade sweet and sour pork tenderloin with rice

image

THURSDAY: balsamic and herb glazed pork loin steaks in buns, with salad and coleslaw

image

FRIDAY: takeaway

SATURDAY: bacon, eggs, baked beans, and proper chips from the chippy!

SUNDAY: Father’s Day roast lamb at my Mum’s house

Tagged: , , , , , ,

12 thoughts on “Lucy’s List – July (week 1)

  1. Laura July 1, 2015 at 12:34 Reply

    Totally agree!! I’m 35 weeks pregnant and the heat is killing me!! Where do you get your recipes from? Your meals always look so good x

    • The Pie Patch July 1, 2015 at 12:36 Reply

      Thank you! A lot are from my own head but I have quite a few that are adapted from Jamie Oliver recipes, or Delia Smith, or Hairy Bikers.

      And I really do feel for anyone pregnant in this heat. It’s unbearable! Stick your feet in a bucket of cold water!

  2. Laura July 1, 2015 at 12:39 Reply

    Really need to start making more use of my slow cooker as when #3 comes along I’m guessing I won’t have much time!!

    • The Pie Patch July 1, 2015 at 12:43 Reply

      It’s a bit of a revelation, having a slow cooker. I think I was quite late jumping on the bandwagon but I couldn’t do without it now that I’m working from home. It took a bit of adjustment & getting used to – mainly getting the right amount of liquid in there so you get a sauce/gravy that’s not to thin. But now I just chuck anything in there. A real godsend when time is short!

  3. Laura July 1, 2015 at 12:46 Reply

    I’ve only used mine to make chilli, bolognaise and once I did a whole chicken in it. My main problem is a little three year old who refuses to eat pretty much everything other than peanut butter and jam sandwiches lol. Will need to get practising

    • The Pie Patch July 1, 2015 at 13:01 Reply

      Haha! Yes, children can be a problem if they are picky eaters. If they like peanut butter, maybe you could do some sort of chicken satay thing in the slow cooker?

  4. Tina July 1, 2015 at 12:56 Reply

    That was an epic rant, love it! Too true about the heat making you miserable though. We have had heat indexes if 110F / 43 C so you would be truely unhappy here. I am & stay inside in the afternoons . Great list as always, love your recipes.

    I also use a crock pot in the summer lots more. Helps keep the kitchen cooler.

    • The Pie Patch July 1, 2015 at 14:25 Reply

      I had a holiday in Crete once & it was 45 in the shade. Totally ruined the holiday coz we just couldn’t go anywhere or do anything!

  5. quercuscommunity July 1, 2015 at 14:04 Reply

    Some lovely food there but I’m fixated on ice cream I’m afraid. 34 degrees here and I feel like I’m about to close down.

    • The Pie Patch July 1, 2015 at 14:24 Reply

      Yep. Same here today. Salad & ice lollies. It’s the only way to go.

  6. Sophie July 1, 2015 at 15:35 Reply

    33° here. I’m melting, the dogs melting, and the toddler is a grim sticky sweaty sun cream greased ball of hot teething fury. I want a bath!

    • The Pie Patch July 1, 2015 at 16:05 Reply

      Ugh. I cannot take any more! Just done the 3rd school run. Thought I might actually die. I’m a sweaty mess. Rewarding myself with an ice lolly.

Leave a Reply

