Lucy’s List – June (week 4)

Oh, gawd. So tired. I can confirm that drinking a pint of full sugar, full caffeine Coke right before bed is a bad idea. I know, right?! Urgh. As some of you may know, I used to drink a lot of fizzy pop. Originally it was Diet Coke. When I used to commute to London for work, I lived on the stuff. Then, as a stay-at-home mum, I cut right back to only having a couple of glasses in the evening. The same way a lot of parents have a glass or two of wine after the kids are in bed. My glass of pop signified the end of a busy day. My chance to relax and unwind.

Then a few years ago I decided to cut artificial sweeteners from our household, particularly aspartame. This was part of a general move towards buying less processed food. Full fat milk, proper butter, wholemeal bread, rice, and pasta.

For a while I switched to full sugar Coke and limited it strictly to one small glass in the evening. But eventually I just went cold turkey. I wanted to reduce my sugar intake, in the hope that my skin might improve. I also switched to decaff coffee. Less sugar, less caffeine. So now I haven’t had any Coke for about 18 months. It hasn’t improved my skin. I really don’t feel any different at all, although it’s undoubtedly healthier not to have that sugar in my body.

Anyway, last night I cracked. Aaaages ago we were sent a free bottle of the stuff with a takeaway order. It’s been sitting in the kitchen for weeks. Last night I really fancied a glass. Just a little taste. I mean, what harm can it do?! Except The Husband went a poured me a whopping great pint glass full of the stuff! Gah! Stupidly I drank the lot. At about 8pm. And I haven’t slept a bloody wink all frigging night! Oh, lordy. I am SO tired. I felt so restless. Couldn’t get comfortable. Twitchy legs. Wired. How the heck did I ever sleep before when I drank it all the time?!

So, despite thinking that giving it up hadn’t had any effect on my body, I certainly noticed the difference when I reintroduced it. Lesson learnt. Never again!

 

MONDAY: full roast dinner – chicken, potatoes, carrots, onions, greens, bread sauce, and real gravy (just because I can!)

image

TUESDAY: takeaway

WEDNESDAY: warm sausage salad

image

THURSDAY: beany butternut squash lasagne

image

FRIDAY: lazy ready made pizza

SATURDAY: cheese and bacon pasta bake (I fried some lardons until crispy and added them to my recipe for macaroni cheese)

image

SUNDAY: garlic and thyme chicken tray bake

image

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Lucy’s List – June (week 4)

  1. Tina June 25, 2015 at 16:49 Reply

    Oh no! I can empathize because I have had nights like this when I have that extra glass of wine too late in the evening.
    Your list is marvelous as always with Monday making me jealoys, and hungry. For your Sunday meal with the chicken & garlic & thyme, how long do you bake that? Looks great and moist.

    • The Pie Patch June 25, 2015 at 17:05 Reply

      I think it was about 40-45 mins or so. I gave it a bit of shake up halfway through. I used garlic powder & dried thyme with a little oil.

      • Tina June 26, 2015 at 17:46

        Thanks, Lucy! I recently made a knock off of one of your chicken drumstick tray bakes. I hope to post it tomorrow & will link up to your site.

      • The Pie Patch June 26, 2015 at 17:58

        Ooh, yes. Let me know! I’d like to see what you made. The basic idea of it is so easily adaptable. You can pretty much throw in anything!

Leave a Reply

