Fiddle Things

I haven’t blogged about my crochet work for a while now but The Pie Patch Shop is still going strong.

I inadvertently stumbled across a new idea when talking to another mum at the school gates. Her daughter had developed a habit of picking and scratching at the skin on her face. It had started off as one tiny bug bite. The bite had long since disappeared but the girl couldn’t seem to break the habit and she had a scattering of sores over her nose and cheeks. I’m not sure she was even aware that she was doing it and the mum was at a loss to know how to help her to stop.

All the time we were standing chatting about this, I noticed the girl was constantly fiddling with my bunch of keys and a little zip-up coin pouch that’s on the keyring. I asked her if she liked fiddling with stuff. She said she did. I asked her if, when she felt like she wanted to scratch her face, if she thought it might help if she had something else to keep her hands busy. She said it might.

The mum agreed that it might be a good idea. Something to distract her and keep her hands away from her face. I was actually thinking along the lines of a bracelet, or a rubber band, or something shop-bought. But as we walked home, the mum asked me if I’d make her something. I had absolutely no idea what to make but I said I’d give it a go.

And so, the Fiddle Thing was born!

image

I found the thinnest cotton yarn I had and rummaged in my button box and dug out as many beads and small buttons I could find. I didn’t really have any idea what I was doing. I’d never done bead work before and had to look up how you get the beads onto the stitches. Then I just sort of winged it from there! I was vaguely thinking it would be a bracelet but it would need a tie so that she could easily take it on and off.

I’m really happy with the result and the little girl was chuffed. It made me feel all warm and smudgy inside! Her skin is already starting to heal and she spoke to me about which beads are her favourites for fiddling with.

Meanwhile, I shared the photo on my Facebook page and in a couple of crochet forums and was inundated with comments from people suggesting other uses for it: people with dementia who find it soothing to have something to keep their hands busy; a parent of a child with severe eczema, who needed a distraction from wanting to scratch; a parent of a child with dyslexia who could use it as a tool to help focus on their school work; a wonderful lady who was having therapy and needed something to hold during her sessions. I just feel overwhelmed that this little object could help so many people in so many different ways.

image

I’ve already had another order and took it as an opportunity to refine the pattern a little bit. I’ve ordered some more supplies and I’m fully stocked. If you’d like to order a Fiddle Thing, or would like more information, please email me at piepatchblog@gmail.com or message me through www.facebook.com/ThePiePatchShop Suitable for all ages from three years up.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Fiddle Things

  1. teresa May 20, 2015 at 18:31 Reply

    What a wonderful idea! I really like the colors and buttons on the first one.

    • The Pie Patch May 20, 2015 at 18:33 Reply

      Thank you! It was a lovely experience making it & I learned a lot about how it could help different people.

Leave a Reply

