Undercrackers

Those baggy old shapeless “period pants” that you’ve had since 1997 are doing you no favours. You know the ones I mean. They’re comfy and familiar and you bring them out every month because you’re long past caring if they get stained. The gusset has long since drooped and you can’t actually remember what colour they were originally. Similarly, this is no time to drag out the delicate little frillies your other half bought you last Valentine’s Day. Yeah, they look pretty. But you only remember after you’ve put them on that the reason you don’t wear them is because the left butt cheek is constantly wedging itself up your crack. Only the left one. Every flipping time. And when it comes to elasticity, they have all the strength of a Flump.

But when it comes to wearing cloth pads, your underwear is an integral part of making them work for you. You may recall I mentioned the importance of decent undergarments in my troubleshooting guide to cloth pads.

Personally, I’m a big fan of good old M&S. Their midi style knick-knocks are perfect for me. I have a bit of a belly and a scar from my two c-sections. I need knickers that won’t rub the scar but I’m not keen on humungous nipple-skimmers either. The midi briefs sit just below my belly button, so everything is tucked in where it should be and stays there. But the cotton is fairly thin and they don’t seem to have much elastic in them. They lose their twang fairly quickly.

Period panties need to be snug fitting, giving good coverage, and with a good strong stretch, particularly in the gusset. Yep. You heard me. I said gusset. Sexy. They need to hold the pad to your body. This will help avoid leaks, prevent pad wedgie, and stop the pad moving around.

In recent months, a lot of cloth pad makers and work-at-home seamstresses have branched out into offering period pants, or ‘scrundies’ as they’re also known. No idea why. They just are.

I bought a few pairs from different makers so that I could try them out and offer you a little round-up. For me, being a UK size 20, it’s refreshing to have a full range of sizes and styles in really cool, funky fabrics to choose from. This doesn’t often happen on the high street.

 

DinkyDotBots

image

You can order these directly from DinkyDotBots or from one of their stockists. I bought mine from Eco Dreams. They arrived quickly. The jersey cotton feels very good quality, they’re comfy, and they’ve washed well.

I had a tiny issue with some loose serging in the gusset. It didn’t actually affect the wearing of the knickers at all. It was on that tiny little bit of double-layering you get on the gusset. I mentioned it to Justine at Eco Dreams and within a week, Jacqui (the owner of DinkyDotBots) had whipped me up an extra replacement pair free of charge. Brilliant customer service!

 

Busy Little Bee

image

I ordered these waaaaaay back in January when Busy Little Bee had a special offer running. The sizing of the first set I received was far too big. So I had a bit of a wait while Katie remade them for me.

Having said that, the fit of these on me is excellent. They are a lovely snug fit across my bum and around my hips but without any bulging muffin top. Today I wore them with a cloth pad on and the pad didn’t budge an inch. I haven’t had to do any bum rummaging or de-wedging. And I didn’t experience any ‘roller blind’ moments when I sat down.

 

Crease Free Clothes

image

I’ve been lusting after a pair of these for a while so I placed a custom order. The snuggly ribbed trim on the waistband and legs appeals to me. Holly had so many scrummy fabrics to choose from that I ended up ordering two smaller pairs for my girls.

My oldest is very tall and slim and wears 11-12y size. Holly was very attentive in asking for her exact measurements so she could adapt her children’s pattern and size up to ensure a good fit.

 

LadyBits Design

image

This is an American brand that is stocked in the UK at Eco Dreams (see link above). I already own one of the famous Angry Uterus heat packs (AMAZING, in case you’re wondering).

I love the style of these knickers. I love the colours. I love the print. The cotton is really thick. Great quality. For me, they are a teensy bit too low cut for my belly. Worn on their own without a pad and with a decent pair of jeans, they are fairly comfy. But on the school run, I did feel them slipping down onto my c-section scar. Worn with a paid, the extra bulk of it makes them even more prone to rolling down when I move about. That said, they do give good bum coverage and would probably be even comfier on someone with a flatter tummy.

 

These are just the brands that I’ve tried. My underwear drawer is looking a lot more colourful these days! Have you got any scrundies? What is your favourite style of knickers to wear with your cloth pads?

Tagged: , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “Undercrackers

  1. therealmrsbash May 18, 2015 at 09:51 Reply

    Ah the “roller blind” moment!! Makes me so annoyed! I love big pants to be honest. My hubs says “The longer we are together, the bigger your pants get”!!!
    These look great and I will definitely check out these brands!
    Xxx

    • The Pie Patch May 18, 2015 at 09:58 Reply

      It’s not just me then? Thought perhaps the old roller blind was down to some weirdness on my part! I do like a good expanse of knicker fabric on a bum as big as mine!

  2. Auntie Jems May 18, 2015 at 10:56 Reply

    “Roller blind”, I laughed out loud. I can totally relate after 2 C-Sections. Off to Google “Angry Uterus”. A perfect post to cheer me up on a grim Monday!

    • The Pie Patch May 18, 2015 at 10:58 Reply

      Glad we understand each other! It’s so grey here today. Definitely a day for buying rainbow pants.

  3. Vicky JJ White May 18, 2015 at 11:06 Reply

    The first 3 WAHMs all use the same pattern 😉 which is great for most but wasn’t that good for me, I found the leg holes too high at the front to cover my ‘baby roll’ sufficiently 😦 Which is a shame as the ones I got from BLB are really well made.

    • The Pie Patch May 18, 2015 at 11:10 Reply

      That’s a shame they didn’t work for you. Strangely though, I found that the BLBs & DDBs fit differently from each other, despite being the same pattern. Perhaps down to different fabrics? Or slightly different technique or size? Not sure. Tis a mystery! I really like them though.

  4. Rachel P May 18, 2015 at 20:02 Reply

    ‘Scrundies’ comes from the pattern name scrundlewear. 🙂 I’m going to make my own undies. I experienced the loss of oomph with m&s undies too.

    • The Pie Patch May 18, 2015 at 20:14 Reply

      Does it actually mean anything though? It sounds like a mash-up of ‘underwear’ & something else. But what is the something else?! It’s going to drive me mad! 😄

Leave a Reply

