Bamboo toothbrushes from Boobalou

image

I’ve worked with Jo at Boobalou several times before, reviewing all sorts of eco friendly products – Eco Egg, family cloth, reusable teabags. I’ve also ordered from them many times as a customer – cloth pads, unsponges, bamboo pot scrapers. As a UK stockist of eco alternative products, their range is nothing if not varied! There are ALL kinds of things you didn’t know you neeeeeeeeded in your life until you browsed the online store.

This time, Jo contacted me to ask if I would be willing to try out a bamboo toothbrush. I’m always open to finding new ways of reducing our household waste, so of course I said ‘yes’.

Plastic toothbrushes are not biodegradable or recyclable. As a family of four, it’s an awful lot of landfill if we change them every two months as recommended. In reality, we probably change them a bit less frequently than that. Mainly because I begrudge buying them so often and I feel guilty about sending them to landfill until they are absolutely done for. I’m convinced it’s just a marketing ploy from the manufacturers to get us to buy more often so I rely on my own spidey senses to alert me when our brushes are looking a bit worse for wear.

But I digress. The Environmental Toothbrush is an Australian brand, so there is quite a carbon footprint there. But I was pleased that Boobalou uses recyclable packaging to wrap its outgoing orders. It was also a good start that the Environmental Toothbrush itself came in a simple cardboard box. It’s so frustrating to buy an eco friendly product, only for it to be encased in a load of plastic and unnecessarily huge packaging!

The packaging proudly declares that the toothbrush is made using panda-friendly bamboo. It is also fully biodegradable and compostable. I was sent a child’s brush and it’s a lovely size for small hands.

Iris is my youngest at three years old and a bit of a reluctant brusher. This is mainly because she doesn’t particularly like the taste of the toothpaste, rather than because of the brush itself. She also has quite a prominent lip tie on her top gums that joins fairly low down right near her two front teeth. It doesn’t affect her speech but we do have to be a bit careful when brushing so as not to catch it or make it sore. Her big sister helps her to brush her teeth in the morning but at bedtime it’s usually more of a battle because she’s so tired by then. So I wasn’t sure how she’d react to a change of style or texture when it came to her toothbrush. The plastic ones are so bright and colourful, and usually plastered in fun characters or fancy design features, like coloured bristles or suction pads.

Admittedly, the first time took a bit of encouragement. The brush looks very different and felt different in her mouth. But she had a go anyway…

image

In the following days, we left both her toothbrushes out for her. The plastic one she had been using was fairly new so I didn’t want to bin it. But it has actually been abandoned in favour of her bamboo one! Despite all its snazzy colours, she ignores the plastic one and reaches for her bamboo one every time. Good girl!

It has to be said that Iris is also a bit of a chewer! She’s young and still learning how to brush her teeth properly. We always let her have a go herself, so of course the brush usually gets more sucking or chewing than actual brushing before me, her dad, or her sister step in to help. So I needed to be confident that the bristles were really secure and that the bamboo casing was solid and not prone to splintering. We are now a couple of weeks in, and the brush isn’t showing any signs of wear and tear. I’ve noticed that plastic bristles usually start splaying out after a few uses but the Nylon 4 bristles on the Environmental Toothbrush (a BPA-free polymer that breaks down within three or four months, without pollution) are still standing proud and we’ve had no shedding at all.

So, all in all, a success! I usually buy own-branded plastic toothbrushes so, at £2.85 for the child size, these are more expensive. They’re also only available in single packs. It would be great if they were available in better value multipacks of adult size and child size. However at Tesco, an Aquafresh or Colgate branded kids’ brush is £2.00. So I think £2.85 is a fairly reasonable price for a fair trade product that is BPA free and so much better for the environment. And Iris clearly approves!

image

 

The Environmental Toothbrush is available to buy now at Boobalou.

 

I was not paid for this post. I was sent a free sample product in exchange for an honest review.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Bamboo toothbrushes from Boobalou

  1. adventureswithmonster May 14, 2015 at 09:53 Reply

    ooh, have never thought of trying these but after reading this I think we need to get some 🙂 great review x

    • The Pie Patch May 14, 2015 at 10:02 Reply

      Thank you. Have a browse on the Boobalou website. I always end up with a whole shopping list of things I want to try!

Leave a Reply

