Lucy’s List – May (week 1)

Well it’s all looking a bit bleak today, isn’t it. I don’t like getting political here because my blog is my happy space, so I’ll keep it brief and simply attempt to distract us from our post-election slump with some pretty photos of food…

 

MONDAY: cheeky roast chicken, mash, roasted carrots and parsnips, proper gravy, and bread sauce

image

TUESDAY: beany veggie slow cooker lasagne

WEDNESDAY: slow cooker beef stew with peas

image

THURSDAY: shamelessly fed the kids freezer food before ordering takeaway (not even sorry!)

image

FRIDAY: pizza

SATURDAY: oven baked salmon and vine tomatoes, with veggie couscous and coleslaw

image

SUNDAY: ribeye steak (still mooing), garlic potato wedges, and green beans

image

 

PS I am particularly aware today that not everyone will be eating as well as my family in the coming years. So maybe we could all add a tin or two to the food bank collection box next time we’re at the supermarket. I have a feeling they’ll be needing it more than ever.

Tagged: , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Lucy’s List – May (week 1)

  1. Mandy Wooding May 8, 2015 at 20:53 Reply

    excellent advice – I am not suggesting that everyone do this but one month when i was feeling a but flush i bought everything on the food bank list – it cost me under a tenner – everything was basics range except the radox bubble bath – if you can people – do it once in a while

  2. Maggie May 9, 2015 at 11:22 Reply

    Thanks Lucy and Mandy for reminding us about the importance of food banks. There is a place near us that I have contributed to (in Westerham no less) but I do not have their list copied down. It is just suggestions I think.

  3. Tina May 9, 2015 at 21:05 Reply

    Your blog is a happy place. Great advice about the food banks. We have boxes in our grocery stores here as well. Love your list this week.

    • The Pie Patch May 9, 2015 at 21:12 Reply

      Thank you. It’s shocking that food banks exist at all in our supposedly wealthy countries.

  4. Tina May 12, 2015 at 14:52 Reply

    Oh my, Lucy, we have an incredible homeless problem here. There are people with signs begging food (mostly they want money) on numerous corners in the town where I work. Sad.

Leave a Reply

