WIWTM: April 2015

I don’t usually suffer really badly with any PMS, apart from mildly sore boobs perhaps. But nothing to write home about. This month? Oh, WOW. I had the period from hell. For a week beforehand I felt so ill with back ache and headache. My back was so bad I was starting to wonder if I had a kidney infection. Add to that intermittent tummy troubles and it wasn’t much fun at all. Then my period arrived three days early and I felt really nauseous and crampy for that first heaviest day. Thanjfully I had my LadyBits angry uterus heat pack to help ease the cramping. And I spent most of the day feeling sorry for myself on the sofa. But it definitely wasn’t a happy period.

image

I remember in my teens I used to suffer really badly like this, sometimes having to miss a day of school on that first day, or being sent home halfway through because the teacher noticed how pale and quiet I was. I used to go all night writhing in agony, unable to sleep. Taking painkillers that didn’t seem to help. Feeling incredibly uncomfortable in the itchy disposable pads that would get scrunched up in my knickers. That awful, heavy, dragging feeling from my groin, right down my thighs that meant I couldn’t stand up for very long without doubling over.

I haven’t felt like that for decades and I really hope it was a one-off and not a sign of my age. I’m 34 now, so it’s inevitable that my cycle and symptoms will change at some stage. It would be really unfair to discover cloth pads at the age of 32 and only be allowed two years of actually enjoying my body’s natural function before it turns against me again!

Have you noticed any changes to your cycle as you’ve grown older? For better or for worse?

In the meantime, here is my ‘What I Wore this Month’…

 

image

TOP ROW (left to right):

~ Homestead Emporium, bamboo velour Ultimax Slim, night (14.5″)

~ 2 x Homestead Emporium, bamboo velour Ultiminis, heavy (the rainbow one has an extra layer of zorb in the core, denoted by the extra lines of stitching) (12″)

~ Lady Days, Lady Luxury bamboo velour, night (14″)

~ Lady Days, Lady Luxury bamboo velour, regular/heavy (11″)

~ 2 x Lady Days, Original cotton (11″)

 

BOTTOM ROW (l-r):

~ Moon and Stars Pads, bamboo velour with a cotton/PUL backing, night (14″)

~ Yurtcraft, cotton, regular (12″)

~ Earthshine Luxe, Full Moon jersey, regular/heavy (12.5″)

~ Made by Gituce, cotton, regular (11″)

~ Beau Bespoke, Egyptian cotton, heavy (12″)

~ KTBoo Baby, Full Mooncloth shibori-dyed bamboo velour, heavy (11″)

~ Dimplemuff, suedecloth, liner (11.5″)

~ 2 x Domino Pads, bamboo velour, liners  (13″)

Tagged: , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “WIWTM: April 2015

  1. Sophie April 27, 2015 at 08:05 Reply

    Mine have always been like that. I’ve just got used to it, but I get upset stomach, tiredness, vomiting, and nose bleebleeds. That’s with and without cloth. So I can empathise with you completely!

    • The Pie Patch April 27, 2015 at 19:20 Reply

      I used to get awful nosebleeds as a child & in my pregnancies too. They were related to air pressure & blood pressure though, rather than hormonal.

      • Sophie April 27, 2015 at 20:37

        Mine are all hormonal. It’s crap. I too know the horror of period poops. My mum hit menopause just after her 50th and her mum gave birth aged 46 so looks like I’m in it for the long haul?

  2. Christy Golding April 27, 2015 at 10:02 Reply

    mine were bearable as a teen….i had cramps and aches but not as bad as some. i was always regular 28 days, i went through a passing out phase in my late teens (scared the hell outa my mum) but that only happened once or twice.
    even conceiving was easy (though i did have 2 mc before number 1 was born, they were all conceived first month ttc). It wasnt until after having kids that they got bad…. not so much crampy as light headed and nauseous. i would dread my first day cos walking the school run was terrible, i would have to get the bus because walking too far would make me puke. And i wasnt regular at all…i could have cycles of 21-40 days, bleed for 5-7 days with 2-3 days of spotting either side. (and took 10 months ttc number 2)
    anyway since using cloth, i have a 4-5 day period and the nauseous feeling and light headedness has almost gone,….but like you, this month i was 2-3 days early and mega heavy (well for me anyway) I went through a heavy pad in 2 hours (but thankfully cloth is amazing and didn’t leak anything onto my shorts)
    anyway…theres my ramblings lol

    • The Pie Patch April 27, 2015 at 19:17 Reply

      Goodness. Hearing everyone’s stories today, I’m thinking perhaps I got off easy! I did have a hard time in my teens but as an adult, they’ve always been v regular. No miscarriages. Conceiving both times within a month or two. My cycle returning to normal after both births. This has been a horrid reminder of how tough my teens were though!

  3. lea April 27, 2015 at 18:43 Reply

    Mine are getting worse. I am 27 next week. Mine are so heavy and painful that i vomit, every month i have what wifey and i call the period poops (explains itself really). I’ve been to my gp who gave me medication that i dont like to take as it just makes my period last twice as long. My mum and nana both started memopause in their late 30s so i am hoping i have a while to go yet.
    using cloth has changed my periods though, i love choosing out a pad and the comfort of using cloth.

    • The Pie Patch April 27, 2015 at 19:13 Reply

      Oh, yeah. Using cloth definitely makes it all so much more bearable. Totally understand about period poops too! It’s all down to ALL your nether muscles contracting at the same time. When I went into labour with my first baby, I did about 5 poos in an hour!

Leave a Reply

