Slow cooker beef stew

I’ve got a slow cooker! I blogged about my need for one here. Now that I’m juggling my own business, a household, and two children at different schools with different pick-up times and no car, my time in the kitchen has rapidly declined. I know slow cookers have had a bit of a moment recently so I thought I might as well jump on the bandwagon and see if it really does make life any easier, without skimping on fresh, nourishing, family meals.

 

Ingredients:

900g diced stewing beef
1 small swede, peeled and cubed
1 onion, chopped
3 carrots, peeled and chopped
1 heaped tsp dried rosemary
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 beef stock cube
Black pepper
Big squirt tomato puree
1/2 bottle red wine
1 tbs oil

 

Method:

Umm … just sort of chucked it all in and gave it a stir really. The peeling and chopping only took about 10 minutes. Bonus!

My slow cooker was given to me second hand by my kind aunt. I have no instruction booklet or recipes to go with it so I had to wing it.

image

Essentially this is everything I would normally put into a normal beef stew that I do on the hob but without worrying about leaving it, or burning to the bottom of the pan, or bubbling over and welding itself to the cooker top.

I left it on ‘high’ for 6 hours, stirring it halfway through to make sure it wasn’t stuck to the bottom or drying out.

image

If you find the gravy isn’t thickening enough, mix a heaped tablespoon of cornflour with a little cold water, then stir it rapidly into the pot to avoid lumps. It should thicken fairly quickly this way.

image

Tagged: , , , , ,

One thought on “Slow cooker beef stew

  1. sue reed February 18, 2015 at 11:07 Reply

    You don’t need the cornflour in water to thicken it, just leave the lid off for an hour before eating and this will thicken the gravy. We had stew cooked in the slow cooker last night (17/2) for tea and it had thick and yummy gravy xx

Leave a Reply

