Muff Chat Monday: Destashing

I’ve been thinking for a while now about completely stripping back my pad stash. It’s no secret that I have a lot of pads. And I mean A LOT. Here is a complete stash shot, minus a few liners that are in the wash:

image

Crazy, isn’t it. I struggled to fit them all across my living room floor! I have 31 liners, 29 regular/moderate pads, 24 heavies, and 19 night pads. That’s 103 altogether! For ONE vagina!

I’m very lucky that I am occasionally sent sample pads to review on my blog or design stage tester pads for various makers. This is always a huge privilege. The fact they value my opinion and my writing enough to entrust me with that task. I am always completely honest in my reviews and usually the pads are brilliant. Usually very good quality, well made, comfortable to wear, and fit for purpose.

But unless it’s a brand I absolutely fall in love with, I am more inclined these days to give them away after my post is published. It seems a bit greedy to hang on to pads that I don’t really need when there are so many people out there keen to make the switch but struggling to build their own stash. So that’s what I’ve been doing. It’s good to give something back to the readers who support me and share the fluffy love with you when I can.

Then there are all the other pads. Pads I have purchased. Sometimes I buy in haste and they turn out to be the wrong size or shape for me. Sometimes they aren’t what I expected. I have a tendency to hang onto them (perhaps for my daughters to use when they get older) but lately I’ve been feeling a bit more ruthless and started selling them on.

There is a strong market for selling second hand (or pre-loved) pads. There are a lot of Facebook pages devoted to just that (search for The Fit and Fluffy Mama Market Place or CSP Sales Group, for example). It’s not for everyone. Sometimes even the most hardened cloth user is a bit “icky” about the thought of used pads. But for a lot of people, they are an absolute godsend. Uncomfortable and frustrated with their disposables but unable to afford new pads from popular makers, the pre-loved market place presents a brilliant opportunity for those desperate to make the switch. They’re also a great starting point for those who are curious about cloth but unsure where to start. The myriad of shapes, styles and top fabrics are bewildering at first, so buying pre-loved offers an opportunity to dip your toe in the water without spending a fortune.

Of course, then there are the pads that I bought just because the fabric is so darned gorgeous that I couldn’t resist. These are the ones that I find it hardest to part with. I have my favourite pads that I reach for every month and there are others that I genuinely like but for some reason, never get around to using. And sometimes they remain deliberately unworn and kept purely for gazing upon and occasional stroking. INSANE. I know. But I think the time has come to get back to basics.

I’m going to stick with my most favourite, trusted makers. I’ll run through them for you, in case you want to check them out:

LINERS:
Dimplemuff
Pretty Eco Intimates for liners.

DAYTIME:
Lady Days
Homestead Emporium
Earthshine Luxe
Made by Gituce
Yurtcraft
Mama Kloth

NIGHT:
Beau Bespoke
Tenderoni Collection
Lady Days
Homestead Emporium
Pretty Eco Intimates

image

These are the makers I seem to reach for month after month. The makers I know will deliver for my particular body shape and flow. It’s safe to say that Lady Days and Homestead Emporium are my all time favourite brands. I’ve spoken about my love affair with Lady Days here.

I’m also building a good stash of Homestead Emporium too.

image

But the rest? It’s time to destash. I’ve picked out 29 that I really don’t use. These I’ll be selling, giving away, and passing on. I feel a bit sad about it. Silly how we become attached to these things, isn’t it?! But that leaves 74 pads. Still way more than I need but these are all pads that I know will get the fluffy love they deserve. And my stash drawers will be a bit easier to close now too!

When did you last have a clear out? Were there any pads you found particularly hard to part with? Drop me a comment below!

Tagged: , , , , , ,

23 thoughts on “Muff Chat Monday: Destashing

  1. rachelradiostar February 9, 2015 at 08:44 Reply

    They are all so pretty! You could totally make them into bunting!!

    • The Pie Patch February 9, 2015 at 09:50 Reply

      I may have once fashioned them into a necklace. You know, err … just for fun. šŸ˜‰

  2. Sophie February 9, 2015 at 09:40 Reply

    I’ve not got enough to destash yet. But I hoard so knowing me I’ll end up needed a separate room for all my mama fluff lol.

    • The Pie Patch February 9, 2015 at 09:49 Reply

      Ha! We joke but it could happen. So many fabrics to choose from!

  3. tanzilc February 9, 2015 at 09:52 Reply

    I’m currently destashing nappies with only one in cloth now and accepting that he’s my last it’s time to let them go as he grows, but only just starting with muma fluff, to be honest starting building muma fluff is helping me destash my baby fluffy nappies!

    • The Pie Patch February 9, 2015 at 09:57 Reply

      Think swapping bubba cloth for mama cloth is fairly common. We have to get our fluffy fix somehow! šŸ˜„

    • beth September 4, 2015 at 03:16 Reply

      Hello, I just came across your post do you still have any of your destash collection?

      • The Pie Patch September 4, 2015 at 07:40

        Hello. This is an old blog post but I do occasionally destash pads that I don’t use very often. It’s best to join fb groups like CSP Sales, or the Fit & Fluffy Mama Market Place. You’ll find lots of pre-loved cloth & cups for sale on those pages.

  4. Christy Golding February 9, 2015 at 12:18 Reply

    I dont have enough to destash…. no i’m NOT in denial… i really do need 60 csp for my 4 day light period…. i do!!!
    ok i probably could destash a few…. but it feels like I’m betraying them when i send them away…. i hear them crying as i close the envelope šŸ˜¦
    my faves…. love dimplemuff, and i got by first earthshine luxe and I’m in love, and i love my beau bespoke liners.

    • The Pie Patch February 9, 2015 at 13:46 Reply

      Pahahaha! We’ve all been there, Christy. Some are so hard to part with. I sold my Environmenstrual hand-dyed sherpa pad last week. That was tough.

  5. xloz68x February 10, 2015 at 00:14 Reply

    Ive never seen anything like these before in uk

    • The Pie Patch February 10, 2015 at 07:22 Reply

      They tend to be made by small businesses & work at home mums with no advertising budget, which is why they aren’t more widely known about. That & the fact that we’re conditioned to believe that our periods are dirty secretive things. They aren’t spoken about openly, so people don’t come to know that alternatives to disposables exist. Hopefully by blogging about it, I am helping to make reusable products become a little more mainstream!

  6. Andrea N February 10, 2015 at 10:31 Reply

    Ah, I’m totally in love with your environmenstrual Sherpa pad. Thank you for destashing it šŸ˜‰ Can’t wait to use it! Xx

    • The Pie Patch February 10, 2015 at 12:08 Reply

      That one was hard to part with but I’m glad it’s found a new home! šŸ™‚

  7. R February 12, 2015 at 22:05 Reply

    I’d love to have the change to rehome some of your old pads šŸ™‚

  8. R February 12, 2015 at 22:07 Reply

    *chance lol

  9. Caroline drupka February 23, 2015 at 02:32 Reply

    I’d love one, anyone of the pads šŸ™‚ please

  10. Reluctant Dreamer March 30, 2015 at 02:49 Reply

    Where do you chose to destash your pads to? Struggling to find UK based groups and in desperate need of pads.

    • The Pie Patch March 30, 2015 at 06:27 Reply

      CSP Sales group & the Fit & Fluffy Mama Market Place are just two Facebook pages you could try. Lots of great condition pre-loved pads to be found!

  11. Andrea Newcome April 1, 2016 at 18:02 Reply

    I would take some off your hands!

    • The Pie Patch April 1, 2016 at 18:09 Reply

      If you are in the UK, join CSP Sales group on Facebook. When I do destash, that’s where I tend to sell them. It’s a busy group & there’s always lots of pads available.

  12. Kitling mui June 25, 2016 at 06:56 Reply

    Where do i get them from you?

    • The Pie Patch June 25, 2016 at 10:38 Reply

      I’m not currently destashing any of my pads but when I do decide to sell some, I always list them in CSP Sales on Facebook.

Leave a Reply

