The Happy Egg Company scrambled egg challenge (serves 1)

I’ve never cooked scrambled eggs in a pan. Ever. Not once. They cook too quickly and get stuck to the pan. Even a non-stick pan. And then you have to wash the pan, which is a massive bum ache.

The only way I’ve ever cooked scrambled eggs is in the microwave in a Pyrex jug. It’s mega quick with minimal washing up. I actually thought this was normal until I went to uni. I thought that’s how everyone cooked them. It didn’t occur to me that the microwave was a relatively modern invention. Anyway, my way is best. Try it. You’ll see.

I’ve recently decided to trial a dairy free diet. You can read about that here. I’m not excluding eggs though, which is lucky because The Happy Egg Company challenged me to make scrambled eggs with a twist. So I thought I’d share my (far superior) method with you while simultaneously testing out some dairy free products.

 

Ingredients:

2 Happy Eggs
Knob of butter or Pure olive spread
Splash of milk or Alpro Rice Cuisine
2 heaped tbs smoked salmon trimmings
Black pepper
1 tsp chopped parsley/chives
1 tbs salad cream

image

 

Method:

Whisk up the eggs, butter and milk (or in my case Alpro Rice Cuisine) with the black pepper in the jug. I use a fork and then use the same fork to eat with (See? Less washing up!).

image

Microwave on full power for 30 seconds, then take it out and whisk it again, making sure you get the bits that are partly cooked around the edge of the jug.

Back in the microwave for another 30 seconds. Keep an eye on them this time because you don’t want them to be overdone and rubbery.

Take them out when they are still ever so slightly gooey. Mix the smoked salmon trimmings into the eggs, then tip out onto your plate.

Now I know the salad cream is a bit maverick. But for me, it’s essential. Don’t knock it til you’ve tried it! Finish off with a sprinkling of chopped parsley.

image

And the dairy free thing? I honestly didn’t notice any difference, compared with my usual scrambled eggs. Happy days!

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “The Happy Egg Company scrambled egg challenge (serves 1)

  1. jules February 1, 2015 at 07:20 Reply

    It looks very nice but on this I have to disagree with you. It’s a matter of personal taste but, for me at least, scrambled egg should be cooked on the hob. I prefer the softer consistency. I’m glad you enjoyed it and that it tasted the same as with regular milk. X

    • The Pie Patch February 1, 2015 at 09:22 Reply

      They are wonderfully soft in the microwave too, you just have to be v careful not to overcook them. But I agree, everyone has their own tastes & ways of doing things. Makes it more interesting!

  2. crohniecassie February 1, 2015 at 11:46 Reply

    You’l have to do a post on how you’rte getting on with the dairy free Lucy! My sister is vegan so we have lots of experience using dairy free alternatives…I’ve recently tried to give up (although realistically its just cutting down) milk and I have to say, the alternatives are much gentler on the system!! I’m loving smoothies made with almond milk!

    Oh, and the eggs look fab..just need to get rid of the yucky fish! lol!

    • The Pie Patch February 1, 2015 at 12:09 Reply

      Haha! I love fish! I have published an intro to the reasons I’m going dairy free & I’m halfway through writing my first week. I’m really not one for faffing about with my diet but it’s not been as tricky as I expected.

  3. Amanda Rogers February 2, 2015 at 16:48 Reply

    Hi, I too am prone to spots and I am 45 !!!. A friend of mine at work aged 47 said whenever she eats eggs she gets a huge spot. Since she told me this I have noticed that this is what happens to me. If I have my favourite poached egg on toast for breakfast sure enough a huge spot appears the next day. This had never occurred to me before until she mentioned it. It won’t stop me having the odd egg though.

    • The Pie Patch February 2, 2015 at 16:52 Reply

      Oh! Now that’s interesting to hear! I’ve had quiche, boiled eggs & scrambled eggs within the last couple of weeks & my skin has been particularly bad! Hmm… I’ll carry on with dairy free for a few weeks & if there’s no change, I’ll try eliminating eggs instead. I think this is going to be a long process!

Leave a Reply

