Lucy’s List – January (week 4)

This week I became a proper work-at-home mum. Actually to be fair, I’ve been a self-employed proofreader for over eight years. And I’ve been preparing to launch The Pie Patch Shop for months now. But this is the week that it finally came to fruition with my big launch night market. I’ve been non-stop busy ever since!

It took me by surprise just how successful my first night was and the hours needed to invest in it, and not nine-to-five office hours either! Running a household, looking after two children (who attend different schools!), as well as getting my own business off the ground has been pretty exhausting but also more fulfilling than I imagined.

Sadly some things have had to take a back seat, including my blogging. I simply do not have as much time to spend in the kitchen. In fact, this week I resorted to buying ready meals for the first time in a long time. They weren’t very nice.

I am still committed to giving my family fresh, home-cooked meals. But taking photos and making notes as I cook takes a lot of time. I usually blog at least twice each week but I’m afraid you might not see quite as many recipes or other blog posts as usual over the next few months. I’ll do my best but I can’t promise!

 

MONDAY: homemade spinach and goats’ cheese flan, new potatoes, salad and coleslaw

image

TUESDAY: chicken fajitas, lettuce, grated cheese, soured cream and wholemeal pittas

WEDNESDAY: TexMex eggs (made with leftovers)

image

THURSDAY: sweet and sour veggie rice with garlic and soy tuna steaks

FRIDAY: takeaway pizza

SATURDAY: slightly rank carbonara ready meal

SUNDAY: Burns’ supper – haggis, bashed neeps and honey glazed parsnips…

image

… followed by deep fried Mars bars!

image

Tagged: , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Lucy’s List – January (week 4)

  1. Sophie January 28, 2015 at 12:11 Reply

    Congratulations on the very successful launch I witnessed it all via Facebook, fabulous job! Maybe some of us followers could contribute to meals via comments or something.

  2. jules January 28, 2015 at 14:41 Reply

    Congratulations on the launch. Unfortunately I’m not on facebook so I missed it. I know what you mean about ready meals. Not so tasty but handy at times in a busy house. X

    • The Pie Patch January 28, 2015 at 14:47 Reply

      Thank you. Sorry you missed the launch. Hopefully over the weekend, I’ll have a chance to list some extra items in my Etsy store. Just follow the link via the ‘Shop’ tab on the menu bar at the the top of the page. 😊

  3. tinabakesbread January 28, 2015 at 16:37 Reply

    Congrats on the new business! If I were on Facebook I would most certainly Like it!
    Could you tell me how you cooked your honeyed parsnips in the dinner listed above? Looks great. I have never had a fried Mars bar 😂

    • The Pie Patch January 28, 2015 at 17:00 Reply

      It’s the first time I’ve deep fried anything! It’s a long-standing joke in the UK that the Scots will deep fry almost anything, particularly Mars bars. My Scottish husband appreciated it anyway!

      The parsnips were just roasted from raw with a little oil, honey & black pepper. For about 45 mins. Keep an eye on them though because the honey will destroy your roasting tin if it burns! Or you can always add the honey later, for the last 10 or 15 minutes of cooking time.

  4. Tina Culbertson January 30, 2015 at 18:00 Reply

    Thanks Lucy! I will try that. Didn’t see any parsnips in the market today but I did see lots of lovely turnips so will be roasting with sweet potatoes

Leave a Reply

