Goats’ cheese and spinach flan (serves 10)

I’ve never made a quiche. Or a flan. Or any sort of eggy tart type thing. It’s the blind baking bit that puts me off. Anything that needs more than one lot of cooking seems a bit too much effort to me.

But I had a whole log of goats’ cheese leftover from Christmas that was just crying out for a tart of some description so I thought I’d give it a go. I had to actually go out and buy a flan dish (loose bottomed, naturally) and baking beans!

image

See? Already a lot of effort involved! I guess I could’ve used pasta or rice to weight it but that always seems a bit of a waste of food to me.

Anyway, onto the recipe…

 

Ingredients:

15 pellets of frozen spinach
A good knob of garlic butter (or plain butter and 1 clove of minced garlic)
1.5 cups of double cream (if you want to make it a bit healthier, go half-and-half with milk and cream)
4 large eggs
1 tsp salt (optional)
1/4 tsp black pepper
1 goats’ cheese log
1 packet of shortcrust pastry.

image

 

Method:

Pre-heat the oven to 200 degrees. Place your flan tin onto a baking tin (just in case you have any disastrous leaks later on!). Line your flan tin with the pastry. I had to roll mine out a bit thinner to fit the tin and it still wasn’t quite big enough (rookie error; should’ve bought a smaller tin!). You want plenty of extra pastry hanging over the edges because it’ll shrink in the oven. Make sure you press the pastry into the corners of the tin. Next, place a large sheet of baking parchment on top of the pastry and weight it down with the baking beans, again spread them right out into the corners. Bake for 30 minutes.

image

Meanwhile melt the garlic butter on a gentle heat and add the frozen spinach. You want to heat it through until all of the moisture has gone. If the spinach is too wet you’ll end up with the fabled soggy bottom and then Paul Hollywood will give you that death stare of his that will bore right into your soul. So keep heating it until it’s a fairly stiff mixture.

image

While the pastry and spinach are cooking, mix up your egg mixture by whisking the cream/milk with the eggs, salt and pepper.

image

You can also take the opportunity to slice the goats’ cheese into medallions.

image

When the initial cooking time is up, remove the baking beans from the pastry tin and return to the oven for another 10 minutes.

By now, all the other components should be ready. Spread the spinach mixture onto the bottom of the cooked pastry case and arrange the goats’ cheese slices on top.

image

Now very carefully pour the egg mixture over the top. You don’t want to dislodge the rest of the filling or splosh egg over the top of the dish. Fill it as near to the top of the pastry as you dare. This is the bit where you have to precariously get the whole thing into the oven without spilling it. Steady now!

image

Mine didn’t have quite as much as I wanted, due to my pastry shrinking too much in a couple of spots.

Bake for a final 40 minutes, until the top is lovely and golden.

image

To get it out of the tin, balance it on a tin of beans. The loose bottom will stand on top of the beans, while the sides of the flan tin should (hopefully) come away easily. You can then transfer the entire quiche, with the metal base, onto a plate to cut and serve.

image

 

 

There is a lot of useful information about British safety standards for eggs, including egg allergy on the British Lion Eggs website. Check on the box for the British Lion Quality mark:

image

As well as on the eggs themselves:

image

If you see this mark, you can be sure that your eggs meet a certain standard.

 

This post was written in conjunction with British Lion Eggs.

Tagged: , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Goats’ cheese and spinach flan (serves 10)

  1. tinabakesbread January 27, 2015 at 12:31 Reply

    If it was your first effort you certainly did a splendid job! Love that goat cheese. Funny enough, I just made a quiche this week as my husband had oral surgery, we are doing a soft food diet. I like how you did yours in that spring pan. I just used a glass 10 in round baking dish.

    • The Pie Patch January 27, 2015 at 13:31 Reply

      Thank you. A loose-bottomed tin makes it easier for me to cut. I’m a bit useless getting things out of a normal dish. I end up butchering it!

  2. Maggie January 27, 2015 at 16:19 Reply

    I’m not such an adventurous cook as you Lucy but I’ve always found a quiche (cheese and onion tart in my case) quite easy to do. I always used to do my own shortcrust but have bought ready made sheets for years now. Ordinary grated cheddar and fried onion with the milky, creamy, eggy mix is tasty but I expect your goats cheese one was extra scrummy. Baking blind really helps give a firm pastry bottom and you’ve got your beans for life now!

  3. Maggie January 27, 2015 at 16:27 Reply

    p.s. I’ve never seen such a long goats’ cheese log. I only have little, round ones or the long, narrow, white, crumbly stuff in a plastic box.

    • The Pie Patch January 27, 2015 at 16:56 Reply

      This one was leftover from a posh cheese board my mum had for Christmas! You could use less by crumbling it over a bit more sparingly.

  4. jules January 27, 2015 at 17:17 Reply

    Looks delicious. Although I can’t imagine any kind of cheese lasting that long in my house. I Iove it!

    • The Pie Patch January 27, 2015 at 17:21 Reply

      Haha! Technically this came from my mum’s house. Cheese doesn’t last long round here either!

Leave a Reply

