Sew Domesticated cloth pads

image

WOW. Would you take a look at those colours! How zingy are they?! Stunning.

Victoria at Sew Domesticated sent me this beautiful pad to review. I was a tester for her very early designs a long time ago and she thought I might like to see how far she has come. And she really has. The shape is sleek and curvy. It’s clear she’s put the effort into tweaking, modifying and perfecting the shape until it is just how she envisaged.

It’s a 12-inch regular absorbency pad. The core fabrics are bamboo fleece and microfibre. I am told that all Sew Domesticated pads will soon have the absorbency marked on the wing, which is handy. I like the slightly wide look of the pad. Most of my favourite brands tend to be on the chunkier side. Despite this, I didn’t find the pad bunching at all. The double snap meant there was no shifting of the pad in my knickers. It stayed put.

The fabric is cotton velour, hand-dyed by the uber lush Rainbow Threads. I have a couple of cotton velour pads. I don’t come across it as often as I’d like. It’s usually a slightly shorter pile than bamboo velour and I find it a little softer too, particularly after washing. I live in a hard water area, which can cause velour fabrics to become a bit crunchy, especially because pads are meant to be washed without softener. Anyway, this cotton velour was incredibly soft and still felt nice and squishy after laundry day.

image

The top stitching is neat and features the little cloth-bummed baby penguin logo as well as the initials of Sew Domesticated.

image

It is well known that a little bit of stitching or embroidery on the top fabric can help with absorbency and directing flow. I am sometimes prone to a bit of ‘channelling’. And not the sort peddled by Derek Acorah. Basically my ample bum occasionally channels my flow backwards off the end of my pad. Of course now and forever more, whenever you hear mention of Derek Acorah, you can think about a humungous arse crack (although let’s face it, I think most of us probably already do!). But I digress. What I’m trying to say is that a bit of stitching can help prevent that from happening.

It’s actually very clever of Victoria to put the heavier, more closely stitched penguin motif at the front end. When I went to change the pad after several hours, I found that most of my bleeding was exactly central to the penguin. I felt a bit bad about messing up his pretty face but he’d done an amazing job at guiding my flow into the pad.

image

There is no PUL in this pad, only a water-resistant fleece backing. And yet, despite the super wicking top fabric and stitching, there were no leaks and no bleed-through onto my knickers. Overall, I am very happy with this newer design of pad from Sew Domesticated. For a regular flow core, it coped really well with one of my heavier days and it really is ever so pretty. So pop over and check out the Sew Domesticated Facebook page. Well worth a visit.

 

I was not paid for this post. I was sent a pad free of charge, in exchange for an honest review.

Tagged: , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Sew Domesticated cloth pads

  1. Anastasia Bird April 13, 2015 at 09:08 Reply

    I have to say, I never knew the embroidery was there to direct flow! I thought it was just because it’s pretty, and to give a pad some branding so you know the maker.
    Well the more you know I suppose! xx

    • The Pie Patch April 13, 2015 at 09:34 Reply

      Well, it’s all of those things too so you are quite right! 🙂

Leave a Reply

