First fluffy mail of 2015!

Fluffy post! And not all of the fanny variety. Ok, mostly of the fanny variety. But there’s yarn too. I may have had a little splurge. Oops!

Apologies for the awful photos. It’s so dark and dreary here today so a mega haul from the postie is just what I needed to bring some sunshine to the post-Christmas comedown. And I’m going to the panto this afternoon too so I definitely deserve a little treat, yes?

 

Boobalou

First up, a stunning Made by Gituce unicorn pad from Boobalou. I had a discount code so it would’ve been rude not to use it.

image

I’ve worked with Gita before; you can read my review of her Knikapads here. They really are beautiful quality. Boobalou is a trusted stockist of eco friendly products that I’ve worked with lots of times before, as well as being a regular customer too. The lovely Jo has a real gift for sourcing stylish products that you didn’t even know you needed. Bonus points for including sweets too!

 

L.O.V.E. Chrissie

I placed an order with a stockist I hadn’t heard of before, called L.O.V.E. Chrissie. It’s great to find a UK supplier who sells SMJAE wetbags – my favourite brand!

image

I already have a couple of her smaller double-pocketed wetbags, which are a perfect size if I’m out for the day. This is a larger single-pocket bag for storing my used pads until wash day.

I’ve never tried a Party in my Pants pad before. It’s PUL backed, which doesn’t usually suit me as I find it a bit slippery so the pad moves around in my knickers. But it feels incredibly thin, almost like a liner, and this is meant to be an overnight pad! So I’ll be interested to give it a go and see how it holds up.

image

I also bought this book to read with my eldest daughter. She’s eight years old and already showing some very small signs of body changes and she’s becoming increasingly aware of them.

image

We’re already very open about discussing periods and boobs and bodily functions (I’ve blogged about having daughters before) but this seemed like a handy reference guide to have around as an extra resource. We had a quick flick through together and she had a giggle at some of the pictures. I told her I’d read it first and then we’ll read it together so she can ask me questions as we go.

There is a section on using tampons, which is awkward as a household of reusable products, but I’ll make sure I discuss menstrual cups with her so at least she’ll know all of the options available to her when making her choices.

 

Bits and Hobs

And finally, yaaaaaaaaarn! Not just any old yarn. Super luxurious hand-dyed posh yarn. The fluffiest of all fluffy post. Sigh… isn’t it lovely?

image

This was a bit of an impulse buy because I saw this maker was having a ‘buy one get one free’ sale in her Etsy store. This is almost unheard of among work-at-home mums so I had to grab them quickly before they all sold out! I nabbed a chunky superwash merino yarn in dreamy blue tones. Right up my street.

The other is pink. Pink isn’t really my thing at all but I promised myself I’d try to be a bit more adventurous with my colour choices (ie NOT buying purple all the time!) and the grey in this really sung to me. It’s a merino/silk blend, which makes it incredibly soft and gorgeous to work with.

 

So that’s my New Year splurge! What have you treated yourself to in the sales? Are you waiting for any special deliveries?

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “First fluffy mail of 2015!

  1. tanzilc January 5, 2015 at 17:05 Reply

    Ooh you’ve made me want fluffy post, best go hunt out some discount codes so I can feel guilt free!

    • The Pie Patch January 5, 2015 at 18:04 Reply

      Think Booalou’s might still be running. Maybe. Think it’s Hello2015.

      • tanzilc January 5, 2015 at 19:43

        Cheers hun, I’ll have a check x

  2. Christy Golding January 5, 2015 at 20:19 Reply

    I havent bought much….just 2 made by gituce ones (i couldnt choose between the unicorns and birds so got both) and with the 10% off it was a good deal. then i may have ordered 2 earthshine lux….but yeah….10% off and free 3d contour thing….so would have been rude not to…… and then i may have just snapped up a 2nds ddb with a slightly pointy wing…but it was pretty acid rain and only £6 all in….so really lots of good deals x x (but shh dont tell my oh)

    • The Pie Patch January 5, 2015 at 20:23 Reply

      All completely justified due to the bargain prices. 😉

Leave a Reply

