Lucy’s List – November (week 4)

I’m feeling simultaneously supercharged and frazzled with Christmas preparations this week. One minute I feel as if I’m doing fine, getting plenty done, well organised.

I blitzed the entire house over two weekends. Proper deep cleaning and moving all the furniture around. It’s like having a new house! And now I’ll be happy putting all the decorations up next weekend, knowing everything is clean and tidy.

But the next minute I sense a blind terror creeping up on me that it’s only a few weeks away. I did a little stock-take last night and made a list of what I still need to do. There’s more than I thought. Nothing is finished, I’ve a whole stack of crocheted bits still to make, and zero free time to do any of it! Aaaaaaaaaaargh!

… And breathe.


image

I mean, I know it’ll all get done. One way or another, when Christmas arrives, it’ll all be done and the things that aren’t done, I’ll somehow muddle through regardless. It’ll all be fine. It always is.

BUT WHAT IF IT’S NOT???

So there have been a few last-minute thrown together quick meals lately. I’ve been halfway through shunting a wardrobe across my bedroom and suddenly realised it was nearly 6pm and the kids still hadn’t been fed! So it’s not the most inspirational meal plan this week but I’VE BEEN BUSY! Ok?!

 

MONDAY: egg, bacon and mushroom hash, with potato waffles and syrup

TUESDAY: payday takeaway

WEDNESDAY: soy glazed tuna with rainbow bulgar wheat

image

THURSDAY: sausages, mash, gravy and runner beans

FRIDAY: Christmas crochet meet-up party! (I took homemade sausage rolls)

image

SATURDAY: pizza

SUNDAY: beans on toast

Tagged: , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Lucy’s List – November (week 4)

  1. tanzilc December 2, 2014 at 08:49 Reply

    I know this feeling very very well!

  2. tinabakesbread December 3, 2014 at 17:40 Reply

    It used to be rush rush rush for us but we now only give gifts to my in-laws and our son, wife and granddaughter, Obviously that’s not an option for every one.

    My extended family does a gift draw. That can be quite fun! You draw the name of a family member from a hat and that’s who you get a gift for, It helps everyone with the financial part as you are only getting one gift.

    By the way gorgeous crochet gift you have wrapped there. Lucky recipient.

    • The Pie Patch December 3, 2014 at 17:54 Reply

      Oh, in the UK we call the gift draw “secret Santa”! I love the idea of putting all my love & care into one single gift. But I’m not sure if my family would be open to such a thing. Might be worth floating the idea for next year though!

Leave a Reply

