WIWTM (Nov 2014)

I had a bit of a disaster this month. Someone … *glares at husband* … put one of those blue checked disposable cloths in the bucket with all the used cloth wipes. Of course it disintegrated into a gazillion microscopic particles in the washing machine. Oh my good gawd. It was EVERYWHERE. I had to shake every item vigorously after getting it out of the machine. Then I had to hoover because the floor was covered too. All from ONE J-cloth! Consequently the fleece backing on several pads was very bobbly…

image

I wrapped some Sellotape around my hand, sticky side facing out and patted it all over the fleece. It made quite a big difference and picked off a fair amount of fuzz.

image

I’m not sure that this next photo shows up the end result very well but it is a big improvement.

image

I also had real problems this month with staining this month. I’ve heard anecdotally that blue fabrics are more prone to staining and I did wear a lot of blue this time around.

I’ve blogged about my wash routine before in my Lazy Guide to Caring for Cloth. This time I added in an extra rinse before my main wash but the two pale blue pads in particular have still come out badly.

It’s not the fault of the pads themselves. It’s been miserable weather this week. Not only was it out of the question to hang them outside, there wasn’t even a speck of sunshine to help them. I dried them in front of the window to give them some natural light but to no avail.

Staining doesn’t bother a lot of people. After all, it’s only really the wearer who has to see it. But it irritates me if I can’t get the stain out. So I’m hoping it’ll fade out gradually over the months, after a few more wears and washes.

Anyway, here are the pads I wore this month:

image

Top row (left to right):

Environmenstrual, 12″ heavy/night, hand-dyed cotton sherpa top fabric (cotton backing shown in photo)
Daisy Rock Designs, 12.5″ night, cotton
Lady Days, 14″ heavy/night, hand-dyed cotton
Pretty Eco Intimates, 13″ night, cotton
Homestead Emporium, 14.75″ UltiMax Slim, hand-dyed bamboo fleece

Middle row (l-r):

County Cloth Creations, 11.5″ moderate, cotton
Earthshine Luxe, 12″ Full Moon heavy, cotton with bamboo velour central panel
Earthshine Luxe, 12.5″ Full Moon moderate/heavy, cotton jersey with a cotton terry central panel
Tenderoni Collection, 12″ regular, cotton
Cotton Candy Eco Cloth, 11.5″ moderate, organic cotton

Bottom row (l-r):

Beau Bespoke, 10.5″ heavy, cotton
Dimplemuff, 12″ slim liner, cotton
Lady Days, 11″ regular, cotton
Mama Kloth, 12″ heavy, batik cotton

 

I’ll be reviewing the Earthshine Luxe pads very soon and I might have a giveaway for you too! Make sure you don’t miss it by subscribing to my blog by entering your email address into the box over on the right-hand sidebar.

Tagged: , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “WIWTM (Nov 2014)

  1. Ashly December 1, 2014 at 08:46 Reply

    When my husband gets a hold of the laundry, and yes, it happens…I use a heavy duty SCOTCH lint roller on my pads. HELPS LOADS! Those stubborn stains, try peroxide to them and if that don’t work, maybe a soak overnight in OXY.

    • The Pie Patch December 1, 2014 at 11:50 Reply

      I think I’ll try soaking them. If it was summer I’d leave them on the line all day. Winter is always a bit trickier. Thanks for the tips!

  2. Nikki Kamminga December 1, 2014 at 10:00 Reply

    You have far more dedication than me – I would probably have just left the bobbling, perhaps telling hubby they need replacing 😉

  3. Judi Whitacre December 1, 2014 at 17:11 Reply

    When I had really bad staining last month (from a botched attempt at dry storage) I used all my usual stain treating methods to no avail. I finally soaked the stains with hydrogen peroxide and let them sit a few hours, then did another cold wash. The stains were still faintly there, but after drying and sitting for a week or so(even in a dark dresser drawer) they faded away on their own after the peroxide treatment.

  4. Sandra December 2, 2014 at 15:52 Reply

    Hi, if I understood it right a paper tissue/handkerchief/kleenex or something similiar was washed together with your other laundry. Usually I am against dryers (and maybe you don’t have one), especially in climate zones where your laundry can air dry, but in case of those accidents with all that fibrous material, a cycle in them works wonders. (An advice by my dad 😀 )

    • The Pie Patch December 2, 2014 at 15:56 Reply

      Thank you! Sadly we don’t have a dryer (worst mistake ever not replacing our old one!). But yes, it’s a disposable kitchen cloth that’s sort of halfway between being tissue & fabric.

Leave a Reply

