A Mars a day…

Do you know what? Some days I really love being a blogger. And today, my friends, is one of those days.

image

Sigh… would you take a look at that! Lucky lucky me. The lovely bods at Mars emailed to ask if I’d like to review some of their new range of baked goods – cookies, cake bars, and tray cakes, as well as a new sweet spread. I said I’d love to (Duh! No brainer!) but didn’t for a minute expect them to send the entire range. Oh, lordy. Come to mama!

I immediately ear-marked the Galaxy tray bake for my craft group. The box says it serves 15 (perfect for a birthday party or celebration!). But we all know that craft groups and cake operate at a ratio similar to dog years. The cake didn’t stand a chance. Washed down with a glass of prosecco, it was a real chocolatey indulgence.

image

To be fair, I reckon you could probably get more than 15 portions from the one tray bake. It’s a rich cake, with thick gooey icing. Perfect for taking into work when it’s your birthday, or for wrapping up and putting into kids’ party bags.

I was pleased to see that the five-pack of Mars cake bars were individually wrapped. Excess packaging isn’t great from an eco perspective but it is sometimes a godsend if the baying pack of demanding small people are soooooo hungry they might actually die if they don’t get something sugary in their faces within the next 30 seconds. Job done.

Actually I ended up putting them out for the girls’ Hallowe’en tea, along with some Monster Munch, oozing eyeballs (party eggs), giant slugs (mini pasties), and maggoty guts & slime (snake sweets in red jelly, with green-dyed pouring cream).

image

Then there are the cookies. Mmm … cookies. The Husband loves a good biscuit. He can strip a well-stocked biscuit tin bare in record timing. He was impressed when I presented him with a choice of Galaxy, Bounty or Milky Way Magic Stars. Quite thin and very sweet but perfectly soft and chewy. The Bounty ones were my favourite.

The Magic Stars are the brand most likely to appeal to children so it’s reassuring to see that, although there are ten in the bag, they are a smaller size than the other cookies. So it’s much easier to control the portion size of something that is most definitely a treat.

image

I love the look of the Maltesers spread. The packaging is cute and the pot is easily reused after the spread is gone. Sweet spreads are having a bit of a trendy moment, aren’t they. Why did no one think of it earlier?!

image

The malty crunchy bits are amazeballs. It’s quite hard to spread because it’s so thick & the crunchy bits don’t like being pushed about. All the more reason to eat it straight from the jar with a spoon if you ask me! My eldest gave it a big thumbs up.

image

Ok, so clearly they aren’t the healthiest snacks in the world. I’d probably keep the Teasers spread for a weekend breakfast treat for the kids, rather than an everyday thing. But this new range from Mars is exactly that – a lovely treat for that once in a while indulgent pleasure.

 

I was not paid for this post. I was sent the new range of Mars baked goods free of charge in exchange for an honest review.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “A Mars a day…

  1. christy golding November 20, 2014 at 14:45 Reply

    ooooh myyyy gawd….actually drooling here!!! galaxy is my favourite chocolate in the whole world….and I fight for the malteasers teaser chocolates in the xmas tins…. may go send a begging letter to mars (I joke!!)
    I need the galaxy cookies….and the cake tray…. oh who am I kidding I need it all…. *goes to see if Tesco has them to add to shopping list*

    • The Pie Patch November 20, 2014 at 14:48 Reply

      The cookies & Maltesers spread is stocked at Tesco. Asda stocks the tray cake. You’re welcome. 😉

      • christy golding November 20, 2014 at 14:54

        yes…I have paced myself and just added the spread…will save cookies for next weeks order… I already spent way more than I normally do. Though the spread is reduced too…so would be rude not to buy!

  2. tinabakesbread November 22, 2014 at 02:12 Reply

    What a score! The photos are wonderful, lucky ladies at your craft group!

Leave a Reply

