Lucy’s List – November (week 1)

Something odd has happened this month. I have failed to plan my meals!!! Yes, it does warrant the use of multiple exclamation marks. I’ve been meal planning for about two years now. Every month around payday I write my plan for the entire month, including weekly shopping lists and a list for the butcher.

This month … it didn’t happen. *GASP* I’m not sure why. I’ve been busy with Hallowe’en, Bonfire Night, a last minute proofreading job, half term, crocheting for Christmas. Stuff. We’re also really strapped for cash this month after ordering some Christmas presents for the girls, so food shopping will have to be cut back to a minimum.

I got to the end of October’s plan and still hadn’t written one for November. This puts me on edge. How will I know what to cook?! *breathes into paper bag* Well last night I hurriedly asked The Husband and kids what they wanted to eat this week. Then I looked at what was left in the freezer and cupboards. Not a lot. The meat drawer was almost empty, so I had to improvise with some cobbled-together veggie meals.

The cheese bake was made with some parboiled veg, roasted peppers, and the cheese sauce I usually make for macaroni cheese. I topped it off with a mix of breadcrumbs, grated cheddar, parmesan, mixed herbs, and black pepper. It was a total blag but the kids loved it. Phew!

Anyway now I’ve got a taste for living on the edge, I’ve decided to wing it week-by-week for the next couple of weeks til payday. Crazy, I know! Wild times.

MONDAY: chilli “non” carne (red lentils, chickpeas and kidney beans) with potato wedges

TUESDAY: cheesy veggie bake with garlic baguette

image

WEDNESDAY: sausages in brioche buns with onions, gherkins and ketchup (followed by sparklers in the garden!)

image

THURSDAY: beef and mushroom stew with garlic buttered cabbage

image

FRIDAY: sweet and sour chicken, egg fried rice, prawn crackers

SATURDAY: fish finger sandwiches

SUNDAY: shepherds pie and broccoli

image

Tagged: , ,

2 thoughts on “Lucy’s List – November (week 1)

  1. Rachel B November 12, 2014 at 15:13 Reply

    I admire you for ‘winging it’! I don’t do my plan monthly but I do it for the week ahead on a Sunday night as 99% of the time I go shopping on a Monday. I’ve been meal planning for quite some time now and I get a little uneasy if my plan has not been done! I look forward to hearing about your ‘winging it’ meals!! Xx

    • The Pie Patch November 12, 2014 at 15:57 Reply

      Noooo! Winging it is bad. Very very bad. It makes me feel wonky inside!

Leave a Reply

