Devon Sun Yarns

Waaaaaaay back in March I ordered some sock yarn from the glorious Daisy at Devon Sun Yarns. Sock yarn is a really versatile yarn. Thinner than double knit (DK) and useful for making delicate shawls, shrugs and scarves. But I wanted to make … umm … socks. For all the family! A pair for me, The Husband and our two girls. Now I must admit, this project has since turned into one of those long term makes that I dip in and out of from time to time. One day, we’ll all have a very fancy pair of socks each. But for now, I’ll just show you the wonderful yarn Daisy created for me.

We discussed colourways at length. Purple is my favourite colour so that was easy enough. Sorted. And rainbows for the girls. A bright vivid rainbow for Lily with streaks of pink. And a softer rainbow for Iris, to be trimmed with any purple leftover from my purple skein.

image

Husband was a bit trickier. “Manly” colours can so often be a bit … dark. Navy, black, brown. Yawn… I wanted something a bit more cheerful but not too lairy. Daisy got it absolutely spot on with this gorgeous muted rainbow:

image

It contains beautiful darker shades of blue, green and red. All painted onto the yarn by hand. I have started working with this colourway and I love the way it hooks up.

image

The skeins arrived already caked up (a service Daisy offers for no extra charge). It’s interesting to see how different the colours look from skein to cake to hook.

This sock yarn is a blend of 75% merino wool and 25% nylon. I am reliably informed that the nylon gives the yarn more durability – a must for something like socks that will be subjected to fairly heavy wear and tear. I must admit, there isn’t a lot of elasticity in the yarn, which is partly why it’s taking me a long time to make the socks. A tiny 3mm hook and tightly crocheted stitches makes for a lot of fiddly work. I’m sure there are other blends available that offer a bit more stretch but I’ll carry on adding to these and I really can’t wait to see the finished articles. It’s definitely a labour of love!

I’ve since become a repeat customer of Devon Sun Yarns because the quality of the product and the customer service is always excellent. I’m particularly fond of the themed yarn boxes that are offered up in limited numbers from time to time. I signed up for a collection of three Doctor Who themed boxes ahead of the new TV series being launched. They are usually a collaboration involving several work-at-home craftswomen and include a skein of yarn dyed in an exclusive colourway, possibly a fancy hook, maybe some stitch markers, and a couple of other surprises. A thoughtful gift or special treat, they’re a good way to get to know of other makers out there that you might not otherwise come across.

I also ordered an extra skein of custom dyed yarn in Tardis colours. A beautifully soft merino superwash double knit yarn. Daisy really listened to what I wanted and there was some lengthy discussion about the exact shade of blue I wanted! I rarely have time to crochet for myself, so it was a real treat to hook up this pair of wrist warmers while watching the first episode!

image

They’ve been worn several times already and aren’t showing any signs of distress. Being a ‘superwash’ yarn means I’ll be able to wash them fairly easily too on a v delicate cycle. I have a feeling they’ll be getting a lot more use once the winter weather sets in. Mainly because I’ve spent all our fuel money on yarn! As you can see, I have a little bit left over. Any ideas what I can make with it?

If you fancy a little slice of Daisy’s yarny loveliness, pop over and say ‘hello’ at Devon Sun Yarns.

 

I was not paid for this post. I was given a discount on my initial order of sock yarn in exchange for an honest review.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Devon Sun Yarns

  1. dottyrobins October 21, 2014 at 18:00 Reply

    such gorgeous yarn and stitch markers too…I really enjoyed reading your post x

    • The Pie Patch October 21, 2014 at 18:28 Reply

      They are lovely, eh! The numbered stitch marker is from Doodlestop & the green beaded one is Crafty Cat Knitty Bits. Thanks so much for commenting. 😊

  2. Maggie October 22, 2014 at 07:29 Reply

    The colours and made-up yarn look gorgeous. I’ve knitted with a fine, stretchier sock yarn but, not being adventurous enough to do socks, I did a double-sided scarf in a pale blue, grey and white mix and some little gift bags with plaited ties in lovely green shades. I love the way the patterns emerge with sock wool. Ooh! Makes me want to start knitting.

    • The Pie Patch October 22, 2014 at 10:11 Reply

      They really are beautiful colours. It keeps the project interesting too, waiting for the next colour change.

  3. tinabakesbread October 24, 2014 at 00:21 Reply

    I agree with everyone, gorgeous colored yarn. I see you can read patterns, I haven’t figured that out yet. But I hope to learn. When I post my crochet project on Saturday I am linking up to your site since you’ve been an inspiration 🙂

    • The Pie Patch October 24, 2014 at 06:29 Reply

      Thank you! Look forward to seeing it. I prefer working from patterns. I’m not v confident in making it up as I go & hate undoing it if it’s wrong!

Leave a Reply

