Lucy’s List – October (week 1)

It’s time. I’ve given in. The heating has been on this week. And there have been several instances of me falling asleep on the sofa under my enormous crocheted shawl. I can’t help it! It’s so heavy it induces immediate sleep.

This week’s meal plan is definitely autumnal. Lots of meaty dishes and rich sauces. It’s heavier food than we eat in the summer but I must admit I find it much more satisfying. I’m wanting to pick at junk in the evenings far less. A good hearty home cooked dinner that sticks to your ribs and warms your cockles (yes, you are allowed to snigger at cockles). There are still plenty of vegetables and other fresh ingredients so I hope it’s still a fairly balanced meal plan. I just need to keep an eye on portion control. I always make humungous batches of food so The Husband can take the leftovers to work for his lunch the following day. Of course, when it’s cold and dark outside and there’s plenty of hot stodge to go around inside, it’s tempting to pile our plates high. So I try to just bear that in mind during the winter months just to stay healthy and help the meals stretch further.

MONDAY: lamb and chestnut stew (leftovers from Sunday)

TUESDAY: slow roasted sticky BBQ pork belly, broccoli and roast potatoes

WEDNESDAY: spaghetti with sausage meatballs

image

THURSDAY: steamed salmon with veggie fried rice

FRIDAY: lamb burgers with sweet potato wedges

image

SATURDAY: big fat takeaway pizza

SUNDAY: picnic tea for kids’ playdate

Tagged: , , ,

5 thoughts on “Lucy’s List – October (week 1)

  1. therealmrsbash October 15, 2014 at 12:14 Reply

    Hi Lucy! Do you have a recipe for the slow cooked belly pork please? Xx

  2. tinabakesbread October 16, 2014 at 14:18 Reply

    I have that pork belly recipe printed from when you made it a while back but haven’t made it yet. With these cooler temps I will be firing up the oven more often.
    Love that plate of pasta and meatballs…..it’s calling me. Must Pin that one.

    • The Pie Patch October 16, 2014 at 14:53 Reply

      Thank you! It’s fairly versatile. The kids love spaghetti but it works just as well with pasta as a bake.

Leave a Reply

