Lucy’s List – September (week 3)

I’m struggling a bit lately. I’ve been a bit under the weather. Not properly ill, just really tired ALL. THE. TIME. Part and parcel of having two children, I guess. And crochet-wise, I’m now in the busy run-up to Christmas. I’ll be working non-stop for the next three months to get it all done. Don’t get me wrong. I enjoy it. Making beautiful gifts for other people gives me great pleasure. But it’s a lot to get done and I’m a born worrier.

I’m nearly 34 but lately I’m feeling old. Really feeling it. Run down. Not 100%. Never getting as much done as I need because I just want to plonk myself on the sofa and concentrate on keeping my eyes open. I don’t even seem to be able to keep up with the housework lately so blogging is taking a bit of a back seat. Something’s got to give. I’ll still fit it in when I can but possibly not as frequently as usual.

I am still cooking from scratch, of course. With Christmas and lots of birthdays coming up, it’s more important than ever to have thrifty meals planned ahead of time to avoid falling back on a takeaway or last minute convenience food. And quite frankly, I’m feeling so washed out at the moment I need all the nutrition I can get!

MONDAY: Burgers in buns with salad

TUESDAY: Chicken in mustard sauce, garlic potatoes and broccoli

image

WEDNESDAY: Salmon noodles with honey, ginger and soy, served with spring rolls

image

THURSDAY: Fried eggs, vegetable nuggets and baked beans

FRIDAY: Veggie lentil chilli, soured cream and tortillas

image

SATURDAY: Cheese board with crackers, grapes, celery and beetroot

image

SUNDAY: Roast at my mum’s

Tagged: , , ,

4 thoughts on “Lucy’s List – September (week 3)

  1. tinabakesbread September 30, 2014 at 20:56 Reply

    I have been waiting to talk to you all day. In the morning I read a few blog posts while I drink my coffee, then off to work. Finally I have a chance to comment!

    If you are being pulled all ways then you certainly should step back from something. Blogging isn’t necessary but cooking and caring for your family is. When I have gotten burnt out I schedule a few posts and leave it be for a while. We all need a break. I hope you get to feeling better. Take care of yourself, Lucy.

    • The Pie Patch September 30, 2014 at 21:33 Reply

      Bless you. Thanks so much for your comment. I’ll still be blogging. I just need to remove that pressure to have something ready every day. I do enjoy it but I have to prioritise. Thanks again, lovely lady. 🙂

  2. Couscous & Consciousness October 3, 2014 at 07:53 Reply

    Hi, visiting you from Squirrel Head Manor. So sorry to hear that you’re feeling a bit under the weather, but judging by this post you’re still managing to eat good healthy nutritious meals, which is half the battle when you don’t feel up to much.

    • The Pie Patch October 3, 2014 at 08:22 Reply

      Trying to! Gotta be quick & easy when you don’t feel well though, eh.

Leave a Reply

