Meal in a basket

My mum is the hardest person in the world to buy presents for. She’s a simple soul and has her set likes and many dislikes. All of the usual “mum” gifts aren’t for her:

Cut flowers – she thinks once they’re cut they’re already dying

Perfume – gives her headache

Spa treatments – she doesn’t like being “pulled about”

Coffee/tea/alcohol – she doesn’t drink any of them

Lunch out – she’s a very fussy eater (only really likes plain meat and potatoes type food).

So you see, birthdays, Christmases and Mother’s Days are a tricky business. With her birthday looming towards the end of September and zero ideas, I did what any sane person would do – I asked Twitter.

Someone came up with the genius idea of a “meal in a basket”. That way I could pick out her favourite foods and she could cook herself a meal that she’d definitely enjoy. Brilliant!

So I settled on a melon starter; a main of steak, potatoes, and fried onions; and profiteroles for afters. With Coca Cola to wash it down and a box of After Eights to finish off. These are all things I know she likes & will enjoy, without too much cooking or washing up. I bought the fresh ingredients the day before and put them in the basket at the last minute.

image

The basket. What to do. I wanted something she could use again so it didn’t take a huge leap for me to decide to crochet a basket for her. But I only had a week to make it, in between the school run and the rampaging toddler. I searched Ravelry for a free pattern and came up with this Bob Wilson one. I already had some chunky acrylic yarn in my stash that was far too scratchy to use for clothes.

image

I think the colours are perfect for my mum and I added an improvised flower for decoration. It sort of matches a shawl I made for her last Mother’s Day too:

image

She loved it! There’s something so special about giving someone a gift that you made yourself. And now my sister wants one for Christmas!

Tagged: , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Meal in a basket

  1. tinabakesbread September 24, 2014 at 11:38 Reply

    We have made up baskets for Christmas presents as you can personalize the contents for the individual. Love it but what I am eager to know is, what sort of twine or yarn did you use for that basket? I would be over the moon if I could make something that pretty AND useful!

    • The Pie Patch September 24, 2014 at 12:57 Reply

      It was chunky weight acrylic yarn but only cheap pound shop stuff (shh, don’t tell my mum!). Too scratchy for clothing but perfect for this!

  2. Rachel Clegg September 24, 2014 at 12:55 Reply

    thats totally cool

  3. Alice Megan September 25, 2014 at 02:20 Reply

    What a lovely idea! This is a perfect gift to show thanks or just that you’re thinking about someone

    • The Pie Patch September 25, 2014 at 06:32 Reply

      Thank you! It’s so easily adaptable, I’ll definitely be making different versions of it in the future.

Leave a Reply

