Fluffy post!

I’ve been so bad this month. We’ve been pretty hard up after September’s back-to-school expenses and yet pads started arriving that I’d forgotten ordering!

I sold some unused pads and some of my toddler’s old cloth nappies to try to make up for my spending. But I still feel quite guilty about it. I don’t need these. I have more than enough pads. I clearly need to get a grip. Christmas is coming (three paydays left!) and I need to prioritise and stop spending money we simply don’t have.

But seeing as these are here and this money has already been spent, I might as well share them with you. Because they are ever so pretty and I’m a lost cause…

 

Boba’s Bounty

image

I ordered these after stalking the maker’s page for a while. It was the Doctor Who fabric that pushed me over the edge. I was curious about the shape. It’s different to anything I’ve seen before.

The extra long wings are designed to prevent the pad from slipping backwards in your knickers. I haven’t tried them yet but I’ll keep you updated.

This particular maker doesn’t pre-wash the cotton like a lot of makers do so if they look a little baggy in the photo it’s because she’s allowed extra fabric for the natural shrinkage that occurs after the first wash.

 

Huggally Wuggally

image

I won this one in a giveaway on the maker’s Facebook page. I had to name my favourite colour, which is actually purple, but since I already have a lot of purple pads I said red instead. I usually go for patterned prints, rather than solid colour so this makes a change. It’s really bright and bold, isn’t it! Comfy too.

 

Busy Little Bee

image

This colourful bundle was sent to me for review. I can’t wait to try them. I won’t say too much here but keep an eye out for my review over the next few weeks.

 

Yurtcraft

image

Yurtcraft is a really popular American brand. This is my first one! I saw this fabric on her Etsy page so placed a custom order. I’m going to save it for Hallowe’en! It arrived really quickly and I’m impressed by how thin it is. The stitching is perfect too. I can see why these pads are so sought after.

 

Popples

image

I mentioned this maker in my last fluffy mail blog post. I loved the pad so much that I ordered two more – oops! I couldn’t resist these prints. Rainbows and stars! They make me happy. Sigh…

 

Lady Days

image

Probably my most favourite maker has just launched a new “slim” range to accompany her original design, so obviously I HAD to buy one to compare. All in the interest of research of course. The quality is every bit as perfect as I’ve come to expect from Helen. I defy anyone to find even a slight fault in her stitching. There aren’t any faults. Ever. Incredible.

 

Tenderoni

image

This American maker is really special. She makes novelty shaped pads that are named after the months of the year. I won some tulip inspired pads from her ages ago but when I saw her latest design on her Facebook page I just couldn’t resist.

I adore owls and the fabric placement is just perfect. With autumn well and truly here, this fits perfectly with my mood. It’s beautiful. It hasn’t arrived yet but I’m super excited to get my hands on it!

 

Environmenstrual

image

I’ve written about this Australian brand before, in my post about mega huge night pads. They are so well made. Really great quality. This one isn’t quite so massive and I bought it using a discount code so it was a bit of a bargain. As with all Environmenstrual pads, the patterned cotton is actually the backing fabric that goes against your knickers. This is the top fabric:

image

Oh, WOW! Isn’t it delicious?! This is my first cotton sherpa pad. It’s so soft. Almost like a sheep’s fleece. And the colours are divine. I’m uber excited about trying this one.

 

So … erm … yeah. In all fairness, one was a prize and some were sent for review so it’s not all that bad, is it? Oh, god. I’m an awful person, aren’t I?! I’m going to try a pad ban next month. Cold turkey until I make some progress in my Christmas shopping. Last time I went cold turkey I think I lasted a fortnight so we’ll see how it goes!

Tagged: , , ,

8 thoughts on “Fluffy post!

  1. nessypie September 22, 2014 at 07:57 Reply

    Omg Lucy I wasn’t expecting to keep on scrolling! Lots of pads x

    • The Pie Patch September 22, 2014 at 09:34 Reply

      It’s terrible, isn’t it! Because it was just a single pad here & there, I didn’t realise how many I’d bought until I wrote this post. Next month is definitely a crack down!

  2. Riven Dell September 22, 2014 at 18:17 Reply

    Hmmm not sure about fabric not being prewashed? Just seems lazy on the part of the seller tbh. Would love an update on the Bobas Bounty pads following being washed.

    • The Pie Patch September 22, 2014 at 18:24 Reply

      The seller said it’s for the benefit of people who might have sensitivities to certain detergents. It’s the first seller I’ve ever come across with this technique (& I’ve tried A LOT of brands!). I’m not really sure how you’d know exactly how much each fabric will shrink. You’d have to be pretty precise in your cutting, I imagine!

      I’ve washed them both now. The Dr Who fabric has shrunk perfectly but the skull fabric is still a little baggy. It was still comfy to wear but doesn’t look as neat as my other pads. In all honesty I’d rather have them arrive pre-washed & ironed – that’s half of the enjoyment of receiving sparkly new pads!

      I must say though, the interesting shape of these pads meant there was no pad slippage at all! I didn’t have to adjust it for the entire duration of wearing it. Not even a tiny bit. That’s pretty impressive!

  3. Nadine Lee October 14, 2014 at 16:08 Reply

    Love all of them! Especially the Tenderoni one! I just did a quick Google of the brand and I can’t seem to find her FB page, is there anyway you can point me in the right direction, thanks!

Leave a Reply

