Foodie blog tour

I was nominated by one of my regular readers (and fellow bloggers) to take part in this culinary blog tour, after she included The Pie Patch in her own contribution. Her name is Tina and she’s across the pond in Florida. She’s been hugely supportive since I started blogging a year ago. She always takes the time to comment on my foodie posts and is really encouraging, as well as being a total foodie and enthusiastic cook herself. You can read her blog post here.

The idea is that I answer these four questions about my own blog, then I name the foodie blogs that I most enjoy reading myself. So here goes…

 

What am I working on currently for my blog?

I’ve had a bit of a lazy week, after a crazy busy couple of weeks as Zero Waste Week ambassador, followed by a week of giveaways to celebrate my first blogging birthday. But I have my usual weekly meal plans all lined up and ready to go, along with any accompanying recipes. I also have a review of a snack product coming up, as well as my regular Monday slot devoted to women’s health issues.

 

How does my work differ from others of its genre?

Well I haven’t yet come across any other blogs that specifically cover cooking, crochet and cloth pads so I guess that makes me unique! Weird. But unique.

Where my food is concerned, there are a lots of other “thrifty” blogs around so I’m certainly not the first. I try to approach it all with a sense of humour. I’m a home cook. I’m not trained. I’ve never done a cooking course. I’m just a mum cooking for her family. Sometimes things go wrong. I have disasters. So I try to be honest and include the failures as well as the successes. I think this is less intimidating for the reader and (hopefully) they’re more likely to engage and offer their own suggestions for improvement. Blogging should be an interactive experience!

 

Why do I write what I do?

Well I have to do something to keep myself out of trouble! I guess it all started with Twitter. I used to do a regular #TweetWhatYouEat with photos of my dinner. Yes. I am one of those people. Because I love food. I love looking at other people’s food. Anyway, followers often said my food looked good, or asked me for recipes. A few suggested I should start a blog. So I did. Mainly because it’s really hard to fit an entire recipe into 140 characters!

 

How does my writing process work?

I’d never really thought about this until now. I have a Filofax that I use to jot down any sudden food inspiration or recipe ideas. I also use it to schedule my posts so I know what I need to publish and when.

I sit down and plan an entire month’s meal plan in one go. I break that down into four weekly plans, which I then publish as ‘Lucy’s List’, along with a brief editorial of whatever I feel like chatting about at the time. The meal plans give me a rough idea of which meals I want to blog. It also forces me to find a certain number of new meal ideas every month and stops me falling into a food rut.

While I’m cooking I take photos as I go and then write it all up afterwards, usually on my phone. So my ‘writing process’, such as it is, isn’t particularly special or interesting. In fact, it’s usually a frantic photo snapped around my baying starving children. Followed by a last minute write-up after collapsing on the sofa at the end of the day (which is exactly what I’m doing now!).

 

So here are my favourite food blogs:

Munchies and Munchkins

Becky is someone I’ve known through Twitter for a couple of years. She was massively encouraging when I was first thinking about starting a blog but bricking it. My very first written recipes were published as guest posts on her site. She also has some pretty nifty ideas for quick and easy food for all the family. Two of my personal favourites, that are now regulars on my menu, are her individual naan bread pizzas and emergency instant syrup sponge pudding.

image

 

Skint Dad

This bloke is amazing. He wiped out his family’s debts through scrimping and saving and sheer hard work. He also blogs the Saturday Night Fakeaway. Brilliant recipes with full costings for recreating your takeaway of choice at home, for a fraction of the cost.

image

I made his sesame prawn toast. Absolutely delicious and surprisingly close to the ‘real thing’. An added benefit is that you’ll know exactly what has gone into it – no hidden nasties!

 

And there you have it! I’m always looking for new food inspiration What are your favourite foodie blogs? Leave a comment below!

Tagged: , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Foodie blog tour

  1. tinabakesbread September 21, 2014 at 14:24 Reply

    Great post, Lucy, and I see two new interesting blogs I want to check out. This post was a lot of work, appreciate you paying it forward by participating!

    • The Pie Patch September 22, 2014 at 06:18 Reply

      Thanks, Tina. It was lovely to be asked & to take part.

Leave a Reply

