Lucy’s List – August (week 3)

Six weeks with an extra pair of hands at home and no school run are starting to show. I’m feeling a bit … blurgh. Too many treats. Not enough exercise. BLURGH.

I’m noticing a difference in my skin and my energy levels. I need to get motivated to take better care of myself, even more so now that the weather has turned towards autumn and we’ll be going out and about less. I’m stuck in a food rut. I need new inspiration.

I’m thinking about switching from a weekly online food shop to a couple of smaller supermarket shops. As much as I adore Ocado (the BEST online supermarket there is), I’m now struggling to keep our week’s shopping within our £80 budget (not including the £60 we spend each month at the butcher!) The girls are getting older and NEVER. STOP. EATING. And the prices of everything just keep on rising.

However, the switch isn’t an easy one to make. We have no car and I have a toddler at home. A single big shop isn’t feasible – I wouldn’t be able to carry it all! A twice-weekly supermarket shop would mean choosing between the two supermarkets that are on a bus route – Sainsbury’s or Aldi. Both are around a 30-minute bus ride each way, then I’d have to negotiate the shop with a buggy and a basket, before lugging it all home again, without any frozen stuff defrosting en route. Do-able but such a faff. On the plus side, it’d certainly be a bit of extra exercise! I wonder if I’ll save enough money to buy a car?!

 

MONDAY: bank holiday takeaway

TUESDAY: spinach and ricotta cannelloni

image

WEDNESDAY: bacon, squash and chickpea stew

THURSDAY: homemade pizza, onion rings and corn on the cob

FRIDAY: BBQ baked beans and sweet potatoes

SATURDAY: king prawn and chorizo pilaf

SUNDAY: slow roasted oxtail and roasted root veg

Tagged: , , ,

3 thoughts on “Lucy’s List – August (week 3)

  1. therealmrsbash August 27, 2014 at 09:14 Reply

    Not having a car sucks! Is there anyone who you could join to go shopping? My friend didn’t have a car for a while so she came shopping with me and we managed to load my car up with two lots of shopping.
    Food shopping is really expensive and it is hard to keep under budget. Aldi and Lidl are really worth going to. The big four supermarkets (Asda, Sainsburys, Tesco and Morrison’s) are finding it really hard to compete with them however they still make astronomical profits!! The consumer is the loser!!

    • The Pie Patch August 27, 2014 at 17:14 Reply

      It never used to bother me when I had one small baby. But one school age kid & a toddler makes everything that bit harder.

      I used to go to Sainsbury’s with my mum before we moved house. Don’t know anyone who shops at Aldi I could go with. It’s tricky. Maybe I’ll just stick with Ocado.

      • therealmrsbash August 27, 2014 at 17:18

        Ocado don’t come down here! It’s like Cornwall doesn’t exist! Xx

Leave a Reply

