Simple lime pie

I saw this recipe on a scrimpers’ forum. It seemed super easy and thrifty too but still good enough to knock up for a dinner party or summer get together. It only has five ingredients and doesn’t involve any cooking at all. It also contains all the calories in the world, so don’t eat it on your own, straight from the tin, with a spoon … nope. Definitely not.

 

Ingredients:

8oz ginger nut biscuits
4oz melted butter
1 tin condensed milk
1/2 pint double cream
Rind of 3 limes
Juice of 4 limes

image

 

Method:

Bash up the biscuits. It’s surprisingly difficult to smash up ginger nuts. They’re quite possibly the hardest substance known to man. I sealed them up in a plastic food bag, put it between two tea towels, and took my rolling pin to it. Quite therapeutic.

image

There were still a lot of big chunks left so I tipped it into a bowl and crushed the rest by hand. Sort of. Next time I’ll blitz them in the food processor.

I microwaved the butter for a minute or so to melt it, then mixed it with the biscuity bits. I pressed the mixture into a loose-bottomed cake tin (“loose-bottomed” … snigger).

image

Pour the cream and condensed milk into a large bowl. Grate in the lime rind and squeeze in the juice, then give it all a thorough mix up. Dollop the whole lot on top of the biscuit base and smooth over.

image

Cling film it and stick it in the fridge for six to eight hours or overnight, until it’s well set. So if it’s for a party you can make it ahead of time and whip it out of the fridge at the last minute.

When you’re ready, run a knife around the edge, then release the catch on the tin.

image

I didn’t bother trying to take the metal base off the bottom. Didn’t want to risk it! But I did have a spare lime for decoration.

image

It’s really fresh and zingy. The ginger biscuits give a nice crunch and a bit of heat. It’s lighter and less claggy than a cheesecake. A perfect palate cleanser after a heavy meal.

image

 

Tagged: , ,

14 thoughts on “Simple lime pie

  1. therealmrsbash August 21, 2014 at 08:47 Reply

    I will definitely make this! I may even share it….!!

  2. Rae Hodgetts August 21, 2014 at 08:51 Reply

    Fabulous! Substitute lemons for the limes for another deceptively impressive dessert!

    • The Pie Patch August 21, 2014 at 08:52 Reply

      Absolutely. Any citrus fruit would work well. I quite fancy making a pineapple one!

  3. Mandy Wooding August 21, 2014 at 09:28 Reply

    gorgeous – (tip from aunty) I line cheesecake tin with cling film, a deft flick of the wrist then removes metal base plate and with luck cheesecake or biuscuity based other items land in one piece on receptacle of choice…as long as it is well set innit!!!

  4. Alison (A Fine Piece & A Blether) August 21, 2014 at 19:51 Reply

    Sounds amazing! Think I might try this out at the weekend 😃

    • The Pie Patch August 21, 2014 at 19:57 Reply

      Yay! It’s so easy. Let me know what you think!

  5. Luffy Moogan August 25, 2014 at 13:59 Reply

    Ha. I thought it was only me that sniggered at the term loose bottomed tin. I get it mixed up with fat bottomed girls as a phrase so when the recipe calls for it I’m always looking for a fat bottomed tin…

    • The Pie Patch August 25, 2014 at 14:09 Reply

      Pahaha! So funny. Some of us never grow up! 😉

  6. […] …followed by simple lime pie […]

  7. Fiona Sands September 13, 2016 at 12:49 Reply

    my favourite pudding…..

Leave a Reply

