GUEST POST: Bangers

I have a very special guest post for you. I’m publishing this anonymously because the writer is very young, only 11 years old, and it’s a sensitive subject. It really struck a chord with me, having two daughters myself. But it also serves to show just how versatile cloth pads (and other reusable products) are and what a difference they can make to all sorts of people. I welcome your thoughts on the subject. If you’d like more information about bedwetting, daytime wetting, or any other toilet matters that may affect children and young people, or even if you’d like to make a donation, visit ERIC.org.uk

 

Since I was a toddler I have been wetting the bed. I didn’t want anybody to know, not even my best friends. I used to hide pants and clothes that I’d weed on. It happened in the day too sometimes.

One day I went to the park with my family. I needed the toilet and tried so hard to hold it in but I couldn’t. I ran to the toilet in the cafe but it was too late.

A few months later I had a residential trip to York with my school. My teacher said I couldn’t go unless I had a bed mat. Luckily my mom was good at sewing so she made me one. If she hadn’t I wouldn’t have been able to go on that school trip.

I went to the doctor about this. The doctor talked to me and said I needed some tests so she made me an appointment at the hospital. A few weeks later I went to the hospital. I had my height measured and I was weighed. A man asked me some embarrassing questions. He said I have overactive bladder disorder and prescribed me some tablets called oxybutynin hydrochloride. They make me very sleepy and I can’t swallow them very well sometimes.

I had to wear disposable sanitary pads. I called them Plastic Bangers because of the noise they made when I had to change them in a public toilet. It was really embarrassing. I didn’t like wearing them because they made me sore. So my mom made me some reusable ones and now I feel a lot happier.

People don’t wee themselves because they’re babyish. It’s because something’s wrong with them sometimes. Please tell someone. I was sad for a long time but things are better now.

Tagged: , , , ,

20 thoughts on “GUEST POST: Bangers

  1. Candise Moore August 18, 2014 at 09:08 Reply

    Ah what a brave young lady, well done for speaking out for others who may have similar trouble.

  2. Jan Morgan August 18, 2014 at 09:31 Reply

    Very brave young girl to talk about her problems so openly, I hope this helps others in her situation and donate to ERIC

    • The Pie Patch August 18, 2014 at 14:12 Reply

      Very brave. I found it really moving to read. Thanks for commenting.

  3. MrsK August 18, 2014 at 09:33 Reply

    Thank you so much for sharing this you brave young woman, and please know I was the same. When out with friends at your age I was always jumping in rivers to cover soaked jeans. I didn’t know about pads at all and my mum never suggested it. After I got pregnant it got worse and I started wearing disposable pads but since I had my little girl in cloth nappies I made some cloth menstual pads. Recently I’ve been using them as bladder pads too and they’re great. I plan on making more. If any of my family need them I will gladly make them some.

    • The Pie Patch August 18, 2014 at 14:15 Reply

      Thanks so much for your kind words & for sharing your own story.

      I got into a bit of an argument on Twitter recently with someone who said cloth pads are “ick” & “made her want to vom”. Although cloth pads aren’t for everyone, I hope she reads this & sees how hurtful her words can be & what an incredible difference cloth pads can make to someone’s life.

  4. Kate August 18, 2014 at 09:35 Reply

    I could have never written anything this personal at the age of 11, you are one strong young lady. Well doe 🙂

    • The Pie Patch August 18, 2014 at 14:15 Reply

      Isn’t she just! She’s certainly very special.

  5. Stacey Morris August 18, 2014 at 14:14 Reply

    You are an amazing young lady. I am so pleased your mum is so supportive. Wish you all the best for the future xxx

    • The Pie Patch August 18, 2014 at 14:16 Reply

      Thank you for taking the time to read & comment.

  6. Sharon August 18, 2014 at 14:40 Reply

    What a brave young lady to talk about this. All the best for successful treatment and recovery xx

  7. Mrs B August 18, 2014 at 15:00 Reply

    What a brave young lady and an inspiration to others. Good luck with your treatment…xxx

    • The Pie Patch August 18, 2014 at 15:02 Reply

      She’s amazing to cope with it all at such a young age. Thanks for reading.

  8. therealmrsbash August 18, 2014 at 21:23 Reply

    Oh my, what an amazing young lady. My sister had the same issue and was mortified by it. Pads weren’t around back then but what a difference they would have made! Well done brave girl, you are a daughter to be proud of. Xx

    • The Pie Patch August 18, 2014 at 21:29 Reply

      It’s such a common problem but rarely spoken about. Growing up is hard enough as it is! Hope this little girl’s mummy shows her all these comments. Thanks for reading.

  9. tiasmum12 August 18, 2014 at 21:41 Reply

    Oh love her, this is sad but also a real problem for people and needs aweness. People’s flippant comments can be massively hurtful and so unneeded.

    • The Pie Patch August 18, 2014 at 21:53 Reply

      Absolutely. Cloth pads are a choice for many people. But some people have to wear them, for all sorts of reasons. A little ignorance can do a lot of damage.

  10. Chris McBride August 18, 2014 at 22:26 Reply

    This little girl should be very proud of herself, as I bet her parents are. Being able to write that is impressive for an 11 year old girl, but being able to tell others is way more impressive in my opinion. This little girl has my respect and adoration.

Leave a Reply

