Cauldron Street Food: Smoky toasted wrap (serves 4)

Soooo … tofu. No, stop! Where are you going?! Come on. Give it a chance!

I think you all know by now, I’m no vegetarian. I accidentally ate tofu once. In miso soup. It was squidgy. And rubbery. And then there was the time the Chinese takeaway sent us the wrong order by mistake. But we never speak of it. I don’t have a good history with tofu. And it doesn’t really look very … umm …

image

But I was sent a voucher for a free product from Cauldron. This is my entry into their #StreetFood competition. I could’ve chosen to buy the veggie sausages or falafel but tofu seemed a more versatile product. And it would definitely work well with the recipe I had in mind – a toasted wrap. There was plain tofu available but the beechwood smoked appealed to me.

image

Thinking about street food, I knew I had to come up with something fresh, quick to prepare, quick to cook, and easy to eat on the go. I’ve made toasted wraps before but I’ve never even bought tofu, let alone cooked with it. But I had a good feeling about this idea. And here it is:

 

Ingredients:

4 tortilla wraps
8 slices mozzarella
8 slices Cauldron beechwood smoked tofu
2 eggs
1 tsp minced garlic
1 tbs chopped chilli (I didn’t have any so blagged it with sweet chilli sauce!)
Black pepper
1 onion, finely sliced
1 red pepper, sliced

image

 

Method:

First thing’s first. The pack recommends draining and pressing the block of tofu for 10 minutes to give it a firmer texture. This didn’t seem like a promising start to me but I duly obliged…

image

Meanwhile get on with preparing the vegetables and slicing the mozzarella. Put a large frying pan on to heat up, ready for the wraps. In a jug, beat the eggs with the garlic, chilli and black pepper. In a smaller pan, soften the veggies in a little oil, then push them to one side of the pan.

Once the tofu is ready, cut off 8 slices and fry them quickly in the empty half of the veggie pan for a few seconds each side. Leave the veggies and tofu on the hob but turn off the heat.

Right. Now the fun bit. You need to set yourself up a little system. This is quick so you need all the different components to hand. Also have a spatula to hand to help fold the hot tortilla.

image

Now you can start building your first wrap. Lay the tortilla in the hot pan, add a couple of slices of tofu, a couple of slices of mozzarella, a little pile of veg, and a drizzle of the egg mixture.

image

The egg mixture will run towards the edges of the wrap so carefully start folding in the sides, one at a time. If it dribbles over the edge it’s not the end of the world, just wait til it’s cooked slightly and scoop it back into the wrap.

image

Flip it over and press down with the spatula to seal the wrap. And that’s it! Done.

image

So how did it taste? It was the texture I was really worried about but I really didn’t notice any texture at all from the tofu. There was a distinctive smoky flavour behind the crunch of the red pepper and the gooey, melted mozzarella. It was pretty good and really filling. It got The Husband’s seal of approval, which is high praise indeed considering there was no meat involved. In the interest of authenticity, I did eat mine standing up, straight from the pan, so I can safely say it works as street food. I didn’t even drop any of it down my clothes!

image

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

