Ronnie’s Rockets

A lady called Tina posted on a crochet forum, asking for volunteers to try out some crochet hooks made by her father. I jumped at the chance and this arrived on my doormat this week…

image

I find it really uncomfortable crocheting with ‘normal’ bare hooks. They’re too narrow for me to grip and I find they twist around while I’m working.

This 4mm hook has a wooden handle that was carved, painted and varnished by Tina’s 77 year-old father, Ronnie. All by hand! How cool is that?!

There is clearly a lot of time and skill in the working of it. The hook feels very securely driven into the handle. The whole thing feels very light and it’s practically flawless.

image

It definitely needs some sort of number marking it as a 4mm but Tina tells me they’re working on this. But it’s lovely to work with.

I like that there is a good length of hook left to work with. I have another decorative hook that only has 2cm of bare hook and, to be frank, I tried to use it once and couldn’t get on with it at all. Decorative handles are all very well but they need to be practical too! This does the job and feels silky smooth.

image

It would be lovely to see some funky patterns painted on. Or perhaps some beautiful, natural wood patterns, well sanded and oiled. Lots of possibilities!

I’m afraid I don’t have a link for you just yet. Tina and Ronnie are looking into ways for him to possibly sell his work. As soon as I have any developments, I’ll be sure to let you know. This was just too pretty not to share with you all. What’s your favourite hook to work with?

EDIT (4/8/2014): Ronnie’s Rockets now has a Facebook page, so if you’re interested in buying one of these handmade hooks, please head over and give the page a ‘like’.

Tagged: , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Ronnie’s Rockets

  1. knotsandkeys July 24, 2014 at 11:42 Reply

    I love this!! 🙂

  2. Debbie August 4, 2014 at 09:36 Reply

    How much plz

Leave a Reply

