Lazy Creek Boutique

I was very very lucky to be one of only three people in the UK to receive this new “mermaid” design pad from Lazy Creek Boutique. Special shout out to my chum Jacqui at Dinkydotbots for swinging it for me.

And look at it! It’s so funky!

image

This is a pantyliner with a cotton top, light bamboo core and fleece back. The design has a patent pending on it so is completely unique to Lazy Creek Boutique.

It’s lovely quality, nice and thin, and washed really well; it didn’t lose its shape at all after washing. The stitching is beautiful. I like the swirly bits. Very neat.

I checked with Gail from Lazy Creek Boutique and it’s meant to be worn with the mermaid’s fin at the front. This is quite interesting. The two separate fins reduced some of the bulk. There wasn’t the same ‘bulge’ that you sometimes get from pads with a rounded front.

image

I’d be really interested in seeing how this design stands up to a heavier flow – whether or not I’d leak off the little dip where the fins meet. Whether it’s possible to lose the bulge and still have effective coverage.

At eight inches, this particular liner was too short for me. My liners need to be at least nine or ten inches. So it wasn’t very comfortable for me at the back and I did keep getting the dreaded pad wedgie. But that’s no fault of the pad itself, just that this length doesn’t work best for my body shape. In fact, if the pad had been longer, the slight flare at the back would be perfect for me. Gail tells me she is already beavering away (ahem … excuse the pun) on the longer version of this pad so there’ll be lengths and absorbencies available to suit everyone.

image

Overall, it’s a really good design. A very trim two inches in the middle when poppered up. This gives a snug fit and minimises movement. I’d be excited to see it as a 12-inch regular or heavy day pad. The flare at the back is a good feature and the finned front is comfy for daytime use.

In the meantime, my eight year-old old has stolen this little liner for her own stash! She loves the bright fabric and cute shape. I suspect this will be an attractive size and style for girls or teens.

Head over to the Lazy Creek Boutique Etsy store for more fabulous fanny fluff and keep an eye out for the new mermaid pads, coming very soon.

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Lazy Creek Boutique

  1. pambracewell July 14, 2014 at 10:43 Reply

    Can i be honest about this pad? Ok, well i’m gonna be anyhow!, seems the FIN (although i cant even see mermaid TBH), is toward the front, yes? I dont have OCD or anything like that, but doesnt it annoy that the fabric would effectively be in your pants the WRONG way round? Or am i totally misreading the way its worn. It just doesnt seem logical in my head. 😦
    Sorry i dont mean to upset anyone, and i hope this is taken as constructive!

    • The Pie Patch July 14, 2014 at 10:47 Reply

      Hahaha! YES! I did think exactly the same thing actually. It makes me a bit twitchy having the pattern upside down in my knickers. I’m assuming, as this is an early prototype, that the end product will have the fabric the right way up. Thanks for reading and commenting.

    • The Pie Patch July 14, 2014 at 10:49 Reply

      Oh, and I’m not sure it’s meant to look exactly like a mermaid. “Mermaid” is just the name for the design, seeing as it has a general aquatic feel about it. It’s an unusual pad that won’t suit everyone but I quite like it.

Leave a Reply

