Crochet stitch markers

Stitch markers are useful for all sorts of things. Like … erm … marking stitches. Yes. Useful.

But really, they’re a handy bit of kit. When I was first learning to crochet, I used a paperclip to mark the middle loop when I started a granny square. My eyes weren’t used to distinguishing the chain stitches and I kept losing the central hole and getting in a right muddle. The paperclip marked it out perfectly.

Then I won a set of Doodlestop stitch markers in a giveaway. These are so delicate and dainty. Really pretty. The pastel coloured ones on the bottom row came as part of a yarn box set that I bought and are a slightly shorter design. I tend to use my Doodlestops for marking the first stitch when working in rounds because they’re very quick to slip on and off. Sometimes the little swirly bit can snag on very fluffy yarn but overall a really easy marker to use.

image

 

I bought a whole load of cheapy plastic markers on eBay too. These were a bargain. You get loads for your money and they’re really flexible so I like using them for bigger or chunkier work, like Boodles baskets. Some of them do have the odd rough bit of plastic sticking up that can catch on the yarn but they’re super cheap so you get what you pay for, I guess.

image

 

I have these lovely decorative markers from Tinkaboo Crafts for You. Really cool and she has gazillions of little charms to choose from. The clasp is a bit more fiddly so I use these for unfinished long term projects.

image

Next on my Tinkaboo ‘to buy’ list is a set of her numbered stitch markers to remind me which size hook I was using. Genius!

 

These two little beauties are my newest markers. They came as part of a Dr Who themed yarn box I ordered from two of my favourite yarn dyers (Devon Sun Yarns and Cuddlebums). The stitch markers are from Crafty Cat Knitty Bits. I hadn’t heard of this maker until I received my yarn box but I really like the clasp on them. It’s quite delicate and bendy so I’m a bit careful with them but really easy to thread on and off and no chance of them falling off once closed.

image

 

What do you use to mark your stitches? Do you have a favourite?

image

Tagged: , , , ,

8 thoughts on “Crochet stitch markers

  1. Heather Haigh July 10, 2014 at 09:10 Reply

    I have some of the colourful plastic ones and find them very useful. I love those pretty ones at the top.

  2. Barbara Roche July 10, 2014 at 09:20 Reply

    My mum had a silver charm bracelet on which she collected footwear charms (shoes, boots, skates, slippers etc). I made some of the charms into knitting stitch markers for my niece and I, as she taught us both to knit.

    • The Pie Patch July 10, 2014 at 09:23 Reply

      What a lovely idea. Such a thoughtful keepsake.

  3. Mahala July 10, 2014 at 09:35 Reply

    I love the top ones; very pretty and they look easy to use. I have some beautiful markers that I bought on ebay years ago, but the clasp is really fiddly to use, and actually hurts my fingers, so I rarely use them now. I end up using a piece of contrasting yarn to mark my place instead, which isn’t nearly as pretty!

    • The Pie Patch July 10, 2014 at 09:45 Reply

      I’m a sucker for pretty but impractical things! 😃

  4. Tina July 10, 2014 at 17:31 Reply

    Great idea, I had never heard of them. I still mean to take your advise and watch YouTube videos to expand my stitching knowledge. You always have such informative posts.

    • The Pie Patch July 10, 2014 at 17:48 Reply

      Thanks so much. As I said at the start, a paperclip works just as well but these are much nicer to look at!

Leave a Reply

