Coleslaw (serves 4-6)

I’ve never made my own coleslaw before. I know homemade ‘slaw was really trendy among TV chefs a couple of years ago but, quite frankly, the thought of washing up all the bits of the food processor was enough to put me off. Yes, I really am that lazy.

But I’m a bit fussy about the shop-bought stuff. I only like the really creamy “deli” style stuff. It’s usually in the supermarket’s extra special double-the-price range. But the cheap stuff is always too watery and chopped too small for my liking. I know. Fussy.

Anyway, it’s summer. At last. So I thought I’d finally have a bash at doing it myself. It’s a good way to use up those last few carrots that are on the turn. I had no idea what to use for the creamy bit. I took a guess at plain yoghurt and had a few other bits in the fridge as a back-up plan. Please bear in mind that the quantities I’ve listed here make A LOT of coleslaw. At least four big portions, probably with leftovers.



1/2 white cabbage
2 large carrots (I had 4 puny ones)
1 small onion
Small pot plain yoghurt
50ml soured cream
Big squirt of mayonnaise
Black pepper




Peel and trim the veg and chop them small enough to fit in the spout of the food processor (unless you’re grating by hand, of course).

I used the coarse grating attachment to blitz the veggies really quickly, before transferring to a large serving bowl. Season well.


If using a food processor, there will be some bigger chunks that missed the blade. You can leave them, if it doesn’t bother you. Or pick them out and slice them a bit smaller.

Now this is where I got a bit experimental. I added the whole pot of yoghurt and gave it a good stir but it wasn’t creamy enough. So I added the leftover bit of soured cream that I had in the fridge. Still not quite enough. So I gave it a great big squirt of mayo. That did the trick. Perfect.


We all know coleslaw can be used as a side dish for all sorts of meals – salads, sandwiches, a ploughman’s, barbecues, burgers, TexMex. Endless possibilities.

I served it with a dirty fish finger sandwich on doorstep bread. Lovely jubbly.


Tagged: , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Coleslaw (serves 4-6)

  1. Jo Langthorne July 5, 2014 at 12:17 Reply

    I love homemade slaw! Dirty (?) fishfingers …

  2. Groovy sausage salad | thepiepatch June 11, 2015 at 09:14 Reply

    […] Lettuce Cucumber Baby plum tomatoes Celery Coleslaw (if you want to make your own, my recipe is here) The Groovy Food Company balsamic […]

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 240 other followers

