The Pratchett bog

We moved into our house three and a half years ago. Money is tight now that we have a mortgage and a second child (and a serious cloth pad habit). We’re nowhere close to poor but we fail month on month to put any money into our moth-eaten savings account. There is never anything left.

We were lucky that our house was nicely decorated when we bought it. It really didn’t need much doing to it. But it wasn’t our choices. And having only ever lived in rented accommodation, we wanted to make this ours.

So we set a goal to decorate one room every year. That seemed do-able. We started small, with the tiny third bedroom (just as I found out I was pregnant with Iris, so the study became the nursery). Since then we’ve done Lily’s room (in all its hideous Hello Kitty glory), replaced the front and back doors, and built a patio area and veggie patch in the back garden.

This year it’s the turn of the upstairs loo. I’ve known for years what I wanted to do with it. Ever since I bought The Husband this plaque…

image

I bought it from the Discworld Emporium. It’s a plaque for room 3B within the Unseen University, which is described by Terry Pratchett in ‘Interesting Times’:

“All virtual lectures took place in room 3B, a room not locatable on any floor plan of the University and also, it was considered, infinite in size”.

Me and Him are big Pratchett fans and I love Paul Kidby’s artwork. I thought it’d be kinda cool for a toilet to be room 3B. Geeky, yes. Funny only to The Husband and me. But cool nonetheless. I’m not really into themed rooms but this is the smallest room in the house and every home needs a little bit of folly and whimsy.

So here are the ‘before’ shots, stripped and ready to paint:

image
(From the doorway)

 
 

image
(The bog)

 
 

image
(The back wall)

 
 

And here are the ‘after’ shots:

image

(Awesome turtle bog seat)

 
 

image

(With a most excellent loo roll holder)

 
 

image

(And, oh my life, the best bit of all – an entire wall of Pratchett!)

 
 

image

(I’ve had this light shade for years but nowhere to put it)

 
 

This is the first room in our house that has been decorated exactly as I imagined it. I know it’s geeky. I know it’s not to everyone’s (or maybe anyone’s?) taste. But it’s ours. And I love it.

image

Tagged: , , , , , ,

20 thoughts on “The Pratchett bog

  1. journey2dfuture June 25, 2014 at 07:04 Reply

    Love that shade of red! am i right in thinking these are book covers ?

    • The Pie Patch June 25, 2014 at 07:05 Reply

      Yes! We had to butcher a gazillion Pratchett novels but I think it was worth it. 😊

      • journey2dfuture June 25, 2014 at 07:07

        Oh wow there real book covers? That’s fab.. I thought maybe you had printed from the web and stuck them there. That’s one way to recycle πŸ˜‰

      • The Pie Patch June 25, 2014 at 07:09

        Haha! Thank you. We both have Kindles now so the books were sitting unloved in the loft. At least now they get a new purpose!

  2. Olivia W June 25, 2014 at 07:52 Reply

    Ummm…I had no idea you were such a big fan. Let me see if I can work my magic in getting a signed book. It may take a while. He is my sister’s husbands Uncle (married to his Aunt).x

    • The Pie Patch June 25, 2014 at 08:16 Reply

      Whaaaaaaat?! OMG, no fricking way! That’s amazing. I just tweeted him the link. I really hope he sees it.

      • Olivia Wilken June 25, 2014 at 09:37

        Out of interest, did you paint over the covers with anything? It looks fantastic…far and away the best privvy I have ever seen.x

      • The Pie Patch June 25, 2014 at 09:39

        Haha. Why, thank you. Heavy duty wallpaper paste underneath, then a special spray varnish on top. Really pleased with it.

  3. emilytealady June 25, 2014 at 10:23 Reply

    I love this. I want to be in your loo x

    • The Pie Patch June 25, 2014 at 13:17 Reply

      Hahaha. All visitors will be forced to visit the loo from now on.

  4. tinabakesbread June 25, 2014 at 15:57 Reply

    I admire your dedication to getting a room done each year. Our bathroom upstairs has been languishing for at least a year and we had bought the new fixtures and towel rack and all. You all aren’t lazy!!

    I love the new look and was about to ask all sorts of questions about how you pasted up those book covers but I see now. Very cool!!

    • The Pie Patch June 25, 2014 at 16:25 Reply

      Thank you. I’m hoping my bedroom will be next year but that’s going to need all new furniture, as well as decorating, so I’d best start saving up!

  5. stellabranch June 25, 2014 at 16:33 Reply

    What a fab way to decorate an room! My son is a huge Pratchett fan and thinks this room is spectacular!

  6. Luffy Moogan June 25, 2014 at 20:20 Reply

    Oh Lord, that is exactly how I would like my loo to look! Fabulous idea with the wall of bookcovers! Fantastic!

  7. Mummy Glitzer June 25, 2014 at 21:28 Reply

    That is awesome!

    • The Pie Patch June 25, 2014 at 21:31 Reply

      Cheers, matey. I’m surprised no one has said it’s hideous … Yet! πŸ˜ƒ

  8. fendermamacrochet July 3, 2014 at 05:06 Reply

    Great idea! I don’t think I’m brave enough to butcher my Pratchett books they’re too precious, but I do love it.

    • The Pie Patch July 3, 2014 at 14:18 Reply

      I know what you mean. It felt a bit sacrilegious doing it but they were mostly donated by my best mate, who was going to get rid of them. So really we rescued them!

Leave a Reply

