The new Green Cycle mega pad

Justine at Green Cycle cloth pads posted on her page recently about maybe wanting to change the design of her pads. I replied to the post saying I would be happy to help if I could, giving my opinion and input, or testing where necessary. But I also said that her current design didn’t really need a lot of tweaking. Anyone who knows this brand will know that the pads are instantly recognisable as Green Cycle.

image

The absorbent core is stitched on separately to the wings, with pretty decorative stitching around the top. This makes the wings super thin for a comfier fit and less bunching between your legs. This is my favourite…

image

Justine was interested in developing a much larger pad, for postpartum or night time use. Although the existing design is nicely rounded, she felt more coverage was needed for a much heavier flow. She sent me this prototype for testing:

image

Now this is an early stage tester, so the stitching isn’t immaculate, but as you can see it still retains the original Green Cycle features – the pretty stitching, the separate core, the ultra thin wings. But the first thing that struck me was the size. It’s HUGE. A real behemoth of a pad.

I must admit, I felt a little intimidated by it at first but still really interested to find out how it would feel. It’s 14 inches long, which isn’t so unusual in a postpartum pad. The front flare is six inches wide (not including the polar fleece backing material), the back is 6.5 inches. It’s the flares that really make the difference. There is no denying, it gives excellent coverage.

And OH MY GOODNESS, it’s so comfortable! It’s like having your own built-in mini pillow for your lady garden. The organic bamboo velour (OBV) topping fabric is really soft. Sometimes overnight, because I am lying still for a long time and then turning over, I experience a pooling effect. The OBV dealt with this brilliantly, absorbing very quickly into a core of three layers of bamboo towelling.

I felt so secure wearing it overnight because I knew there was no way I could possibly leak onto my knickers. I wore it for 11 hours overnight during the heaviest part of my cycle with no problems whatsoever. I did check a couple of times before bed that it hadn’t slipped or moved but it stayed firmly in one place all night. It would be nice to have some additional poppers for extra security and a better fit, seeing as the wings are big enough to take them. I’m sure Justine would offer this as an option, if required.

image

I was surprised that it didn’t bunch up at all but there is no denying that it’s a gargantuan pad. It is fortunate that I just so happen to have gargantuan bloomers to match, so the pad did fit inside them without the flare hanging out of either side. But anyone with a smaller bum and knickers might have a different experience.

In terms of washing, I always find that my OBV pads are more prone to staining than my cotton tops. And this did stain a little. But I also find that after a few uses and a few washing cycles, the stain usually fades out by itself.

Personally I wouldn’t wear this pad at any time other than those fews days post-birth and at night purely because of its size. But I can say this is absolutely the comfiest night pad I’ve ever worn. I can easily see this becoming my go-to pad every month.

image

These pads will be available on the new Eco Dreams website from 20th June, along with lots of other products from Green Cycle, Butterfly Cloth Pads and lots more. Look out for a special discount code coming up soon!

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “The new Green Cycle mega pad

  1. Olivia W June 16, 2014 at 15:22 Reply

    Great review and I particularly like the bit about having a pillow for your lady garden….I nearly choked on my tea.x

    • The Pie Patch June 16, 2014 at 16:34 Reply

      Thanks for reading! It really is soooo soft. If you haven’t already, don’t forget to enter my Green Cycle giveaway too! 😀

Leave a Reply

