Hooking exciting news!

I have some exciting news on the crochet front!

Friends and family have suggested lots of times that I ought to sell my crocheted bits and bobs but I’ve never quite had the confidence to try. Who would want to buy my stuff anyway?!

Anyway, the ladies behind two brands of cloth sanitary pads – Butterfly Cloth Pads and Green Cycle cloth pads – are launching a joint website to sell their products. “All well and good but what has it got to do with crochet?”, I hear you ask!

Well, Justine from Green Cycle approached me to ask if I could make some little pouches for storing menstrual cups. Not just any old pouches either. These ones each resemble a teeny tiny uterus, complete with fallopian tubes!

image

How funny! And weird. And sort of cute.

I found a free pattern here. There are no stipulations about use so I had a go at it. The first one came up too small (I discovered this after a late night phone call to a family member asking her to measure her Mooncup!). I switched to a larger hook and the second attempt was perfect.

And away I went. They’re surprisingly quick to do. Similar to a tiny hat. I’m really pleased with how they’ve turned out. These ones will easily fit most small sized cups. Larger ones are a bit of a squeeze but I’m working on making the next batch a little roomier.

image

They’ll be available to buy on the Eco Dreams website from 20th June 2014 and for that day only, readers of The Pie Patch can enjoy a 10% discount using code “ThePiePatch10” at the checkout. Valid for any products on the Eco Dreams website purchased on 20th June 2014.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

13 thoughts on “Hooking exciting news!

  1. nessypie June 16, 2014 at 20:01 Reply

    I like these 🙂

    • The Pie Patch June 16, 2014 at 20:14 Reply

      I’m so glad! Really wasn’t sure how they’d go down. All positive so far (except for my dad but I really didn’t expect him to appreciate a tiny uterus for a menstrual cup!). 😀

      • nessypie June 16, 2014 at 20:18

        In which case you should make smaller ones and use them as earrings and wear around him! Or a huge one for a bag now that would be awesome x

      • The Pie Patch June 16, 2014 at 20:19

        Pahahahaha! Or a complete matching set?! Don’t go giving me ideas! So funny.

      • nessypie June 16, 2014 at 20:22

        You really should omg a rainbow uterus bag 😀

      • The Pie Patch June 16, 2014 at 20:25

        I’ve had a few requests for rainbow ones actually. Hmm. I wonder how I’d scale up the pattern…

      • nessypie June 16, 2014 at 20:26

        Please do it 🙂 with a nice cotton lining perfect 🙂 I want one!!!

      • The Pie Patch June 16, 2014 at 20:28

        I’ve never made a bag before! And I’ve got a project list a mile long. It may take some time to get around to it. I’ll have a think…

  2. tiasmum12 June 16, 2014 at 20:09 Reply

    Chuffed to bits for you lucy!

    • The Pie Patch June 16, 2014 at 20:15 Reply

      Thanks, Kelly. ☺

      • The Pie Patch June 16, 2014 at 20:16

        Also (if you haven’t seen it already), there’s a giveaway running til Fri that you might want to enter! 😉

  3. journey2dfuture June 17, 2014 at 05:49 Reply

    Cute idea x

Leave a Reply

