GIVEAWAY: KoruTumi pebble vest

image

How gorgeous is this little crocheted baby vest? It was made by the very clever Beth behind KoruTumi. She is really skilled at making unique felted creations and all sorts of other crafty magic but has recently turned her attentions to crochet. Turns out she’s got ALL da skillz!

You probably know from my previous post that I taught myself to crochet from YouTube video tutorials. I love it and enjoy it but I’m very much a pattern-follower. I need a piece of paper telling me which stitch and how many. I can’t just whip up a garment from thin air.

So I have a lot of respect for crafters who can write their own patterns. And that’s exactly what KoruTumi has done. She sent me the pattern for her Pebble Vest for testing, just to make sure it works and to iron out any creases. She needn’t have worried. The pattern works perfectly and will be available to buy (link to her page above).

I used King Cole Splash 100% acrylic DK (shade 819) and a 4mm hook.

image

It’s a lovely unisex yarn – different shades of grey with little flecks of blue and red. I even used my fancy wooden buttons from Cottage Coppicing. And here is the vest I made:

image

Isn’t it sweet? The pattern is designed for 6-9m size. Mine has come up a lot smaller but I do tend to crochet quite tightly. There’s a bit of stretch in it though. It fits my daughter’s (slightly sinister) baby doll, which is roughly newborn size.

image

The vest measures eight inches from the bottom edge up to the top of the shoulder strap, and eight inches wide. It’s a lovely little vest; quick and easy to make and takes less than 100g of yarn. It’s great for babies or dolls. It might even fit a small dog, if you’re that way inclined!

So, how about a giveaway? I have very nearly reached 200 likes on my Facebook page and 200 followers on my Twitter account (@ThePiePatch). So to thank you all for your support, I’ll be giving away this vest to one lucky person once we reach those milestones. It would be great if you could follow my blog or one of my social media pages (if you don’t already). To enter, please pop a comment below, telling me who will wear this vest if you win.

This competition is open to anyone. I’ll pick a winner at random from the comments left on this post. Postage within the UK is included but international winners will have to cover postage to their country. Closing date is noon, Saturday 31st May 2014.

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

13 thoughts on “GIVEAWAY: KoruTumi pebble vest

  1. lindsey hunton May 17, 2014 at 09:32 Reply

    My 2nd baba will wear this when we have them

  2. Amanda Jaggard May 17, 2014 at 09:40 Reply

    This is gorgeous! If I won I’d gift it to a certain midwife for her gorgeous boy x

  3. Tamz May 17, 2014 at 14:44 Reply

    Gorgeous, Lucy!

    • The Pie Patch May 17, 2014 at 14:46 Reply

      The vest or the creepy doll? 😜

      • Tamz May 17, 2014 at 14:53

        Haha! The vest!

  4. Tanya May 17, 2014 at 19:04 Reply

    My little boy would rock this with a pink t shirt x

  5. Anais May 17, 2014 at 19:35 Reply

    Awesome giveaway Lucy! Love KoruTumi …and crochet! Thanks for the giveaway 🙂

  6. katy May 18, 2014 at 10:00 Reply

    My little Lily would wear this vest to show off her chubby little arms 🙂

  7. Lisa Standley May 20, 2014 at 07:53 Reply

    so cute!

  8. illusiongraphik May 20, 2014 at 09:14 Reply

    My lovely friend and neighbour is having a boy – Angus – in September, this should keep him warm 🙂

  9. Candise Moore May 26, 2014 at 14:15 Reply

    My 2 year old has a doll that shares our baby’s shoes, vests and nappies – he would love a vest for his dolly!

  10. Natalie Gee May 30, 2014 at 09:09 Reply

    Love the design… beautiful x

  11. Linda Wood May 30, 2014 at 09:37 Reply

    Gorgeous, we have a brand new cousin on the way, be perfect for them xx

Leave a Reply

