Beany lentil cottage pie (serves 4-6)

I am submitting this as my favourite vegetarian recipe for the Betta Living Vegetarian Recipe competition, proving that even hardened meat-eaters can enjoy veggie meals!

 

served

I have vegetarians lurking on my social media feeds. I didn’t invite them. They just appeared. Not that I have anything against them, of course. Obviously they don’t eat meat. Ever. Which is weird. But I don’t like dried fruit and lots of people consider that a bit weird too. So it’s all good. Anyway, they’ve been requesting veggie meal ideas and I’ve written before a few times about having a meat-free dinner every week. This is a favourite of mine. Even my carnivorous husband likes it, despite being confused and embarrassed about his feelings.

I first experienced a veggie cottage pie in hospital, while pregnant with my second baby and being treated for hyperemesis gravidarum (HG). If you haven’t heard of this before, take a look at the Pregnancy Sickness Support website; they do some sterling charitable work supporting women and their families suffering from the condition. It may seem unfathomable to most of you that any sort of hospital food can be appealing, let alone vegetarian hospital food. But with HG I’d had constant nausea for weeks, was being sick 12 times a day every day, couldn’t even keep a sip of water down, and lost a stone in weight in a week. Once the IV fluids and cocktail of drugs took effect, even the most over-cooked, tasteless NHS offering was a blessed relief; the best food I’d ever tasted.

Since then, I’ve experimented with making my own version and I think this one is pretty good. The key is packing in flavour and texture to balance the soft, bland pulses and mash. Give it a go. Even if you’re a big, cynical meat lover. I use beef gravy in mine, if it makes you feel better.

Ingredients:

1 tin of lentils
1 tin of other beans (I used a mixed bean salad but choose whichever you like the look of)
200g mushrooms, quartered
1 onion, chopped
2 carrots, chopped
2 sticks celery, chopped
1 heaped tsp minced garlic
1 tbs caramelised onion chutney
1 tbs tomato puree
Splash of Worcester sauce
Black pepper
½ pint gravy (I used beef but use veggie if you’re that way inclined)

For the topping:
2 large potatoes, peeled and cubed
2 large sweet potatoes, peeled and cubed
Black pepper
Knob of butter

ingredients

Method:

Get your spuds on to boil and pre-heat the oven to 200˚C.

Soften the onion, celery and carrot in some oil. I left the carrots (and mushrooms) quite chunky so they give the filling some bite and texture.

chopped

When they are really well softened, add the mushrooms and garlic. Fry for a few minutes. Then add the drained lentils and pulses and all the wet ingredients – gravy, Worcester sauce, tomato puree and onion chutney. Bring it to a simmer and season.

Leave the filling to simmer while you check the spuds, which should be cooked. Sweet potato is quite a wet vegetable so drain them well. Return the potatoes to the same pan with a knob of butter and mash really well. By all means take a photo and casually manage to get your fabulous new purple masher in the shot…

mash

Now everything is ready to assemble. Put an oven dish onto a baking tray. This is crucial – you won’t get caught out when the pie bubbles over and destroys the bottom of your oven! Transfer the filling to the dish. Dot the mash all over the top of it and gently smooth over until all the dots join up. Fluff it up a bit with a fork. Bake for 20-30 minutes until lovely and crispy on top.

cooked

There you have it. Hearty, autumnal food. Warming, tasty and filling. Healthy too. And no meat!

served

(L)

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

13 thoughts on “Beany lentil cottage pie (serves 4-6)

  1. Debra September 26, 2013 at 11:46 Reply

    Looks like another good one 🙂 I don’t like dried fruits either, or jam, marmalade etc. Fresh fruit only for me 🙂

    • The Pie Patch September 26, 2013 at 11:49 Reply

      How funny! Generally I’m not a picky eater (the total opposite in fact!). But I am a bit weird about fruit. I like jam but only if I avoid the big lumps of fruit. And only smooth yoghurt too!

  2. Balancing act | thepiepatch October 15, 2013 at 10:26 Reply

    […] Lentil and bean cottage pie with broccoli • Macaroni cheese with salad • Eggs flamenco with warm, crusty bread • Mushroom […]

  3. […] lentil and baked bean hotpot with green veg (use my veggie cottage pie recipe as a base but top with thinly sliced potatoes […]

  4. tiasmum12 May 14, 2014 at 13:11 Reply

    This sounds amazing! I love the husband quote about being confused about his feelings lol! I think if my husband both tried and liked this he would be the same.

    • The Pie Patch May 14, 2014 at 13:19 Reply

      It’s not an easy thing to accept when you’re pumped full of neolithic testosterone. He is truly a modern man.

  5. tinabakesbread May 14, 2014 at 22:17 Reply

    I just made a shepherd’s pie last night, but used lamb. This one looks good but my man would be asking Where is the meat!

    • The Pie Patch May 14, 2014 at 22:20 Reply

      I thought the same of my husband but he enjoyed it! Dare you to sneak it onto his plate. See what he says!

  6. […] TUESDAY: beany lentil cottage pie […]

  7. Angela May 11, 2015 at 10:14 Reply

    This is a great idea for something different. Hubby would enjoy this one.

    • The Pie Patch May 11, 2015 at 10:29 Reply

      My husband enjoys this too. It’s surprisingly filling! Thanks for commenting. 🙂

  8. Sneaky Veg May 13, 2015 at 21:12 Reply

    I like the sound of this, especially the sweet potato mash part. I don’t remember getting anything like this when I was in hospital after having my babies!

    • The Pie Patch May 14, 2015 at 05:45 Reply

      To be fair, the hospital version wasn’t *quite* like this! But using sweet potato or other root veg for the mash definitely gives it extra flavour. Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

