Muff Chat Monday: Knikapads at Made By Gituce

I hereby declare that Mondays shall henceforth be known as Muff Chat Mondays.

I want to try to keep The Pie Patch balanced. So Monday will be all things to do with cloth pads – reviews, how to use them, how to wash them, the positive effects of wearing cloth on your body and the environment. This leaves the rest of the week for crochet, kids’ stuff, meal planning with Lucy’s List, recipes and other food-related reviews.

 
 

So onwards. The wonderful Gita sent me some cloth pads to review. She makes Knikapads as part of her business, Made by Gituce.

image

We had a long chat beforehand about what I like from my own cloth pads. And despite saying I could review whichever product she chose, she wanted to make sure I had the pad most suited to me. This is the personalised service I love from a small work-at-home business.

In fact I was sent not one but THREE pads! What a lovely treat! And they are really quite beautiful. The stitching is absolutely perfect and the cotton topping fabrics are gorgeous too. Look at the turtles!

image

I was keen to review one of the longer pantyliners (Gita also offers a standard size pantyliner) because I’ve never seen any with this torpedo shape before. Really unusual.

image

The liner is a little under 10 inches, which is a great length for a liner. Most liners tend to be quite short and I they usually give me a wedgie! I found the longer length much comfier. This one has a cotton top, two layers of cotton inside, then a microfleece backing fabric. It feels very thin so I barely noticed I was wearing it.

The other two pads are very different. An 11-inch heavy with a hidden waterproof PUL layer. And a 12-inch regular pad with a cotton top and a water resistant fleece backing.

image

The core of the regular pad is one layer of cotton, one of zorb and one of cotton terry. I wore it for several hours on my heaviest day and it held up really well with no leaks. The wide, rounded back certainly helped with this.

I wore the heavy pad in the daytime too. We had a family day out and we did lots of walking, dancing and sitting on the ground. I also carried the toddler in our mei tai sling for most of the day. We didn’t find a loo until after lunch time but I needn’t have worried. The pad did its job and didn’t let me down.

All in all, I would thoroughly recommend this brand. The pads are really well made. The maker is super lovely and helpful. Her fabrics are stunning. Pop over for a look at her products on Facebook or Etsy.

 
 

I did not receive any payment for this post. I was sent three pads free of charge in return for an honest review.

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Muff Chat Monday: Knikapads at Made By Gituce

  1. Feminine Wear May 5, 2014 at 11:43 Reply

    Very interesting, I love the shape of the torpedo pads. Thanks for sharing your experiences with these 🙂

    • The Pie Patch May 5, 2014 at 11:51 Reply

      They are different, eh! Thanks for taking the time to read it and comment. 🙂

  2. Candise Moore May 5, 2014 at 16:15 Reply

    I have ordered some pads from Made by Gituce, can’t wait for them to arrive now.

    • The Pie Patch May 5, 2014 at 16:17 Reply

      You’re in for a treat! I was really impressed.

  3. Olivia W May 6, 2014 at 12:16 Reply

    I love the look of the torpedo liners…would consider trying them out. How did you get on with the shorter wing as I have found that pads with the pointy wings the back tends to fall off to one side or twist round my undies….does the longer pad length counter act twisting….or do I need better or tighter fitting undies?

    • The Pie Patch May 6, 2014 at 12:47 Reply

      For me the smaller wings were fine. My knickers are rather voluminous so if the pad did twist I didn’t notice!

  4. Cloth pad makers | thepiepatch May 12, 2014 at 07:24 Reply

    […] This lady couldn’t have been more accommodating in helping to choose the right KnikaPads and they are absolutely beautifully made too. Review here. […]

Leave a Reply

