The big Bank Holiday barbecue

I must admit to being a big fan of having my big weekly shop delivered. We don’t own a car so it’s almost impossible to do a whole week’s shopping on my own with a toddler, a buggy (therefore no way of pushing a trolley) and a bus trip home.

So it was a real treat when Morrisons offered me the chance to be a #MorrisonsMum and stock up with them for the Bank Holiday weekend. My lovely mum agreed to give me a lift there and back so there’d be no struggling with heavy bags on the bus.

 

image

 

When I arrived at the shop, it was pretty hard not to notice that Morrisons have reduced a lot of their prices lately. They certainly know how to make a splash; they even had balloons!

 

image

 

As much as I appreciate having my shopping delivered to my door, nothing quite beats being able to see the produce for myself – picking out my own salmon fillets, choosing the best mushrooms and the freshest lettuce. But look at this swanky spacey-looking display thingamy!

 

image

 

It’s amazing! It pumps misty magical voodoo all over the herbs to keep them perky. Oooooooh! I picked up some growing herbs ready to plant out in my little herb garden on Sunday.

Down to the nitty gritty. Cost. Morrisons did well! I do feel I got more for my money compared with my usual delivery. And this was a BIG shop. Payday was last week and this was my first big shop in over two weeks. You know those weeks when you’ve run out of EVERYTHING? Yeah. That.

My meal planning was done so I knew what I needed and my list was two columns long. We are a family of four and it covered all our breakfasts, lunches, dinners, snacks, treats and household items for a week and a half, including a bank holiday barbecue for us and my parents. Grand total? £114.98.

 

image

 

That’s not bad! My normal budget for one week is £80. So for a week and a half, plus a family barbecue, I think I did pretty well.

Anyway, I have two quick and easy recipes for you for marinating meat and a cheat’s potato salad. Perfect for a barbecue. All three can be made ahead of time so that you can spend more time in the sunshine!

 
 

Honey-glazed pork

INGREDIENTS:
2 heaped tbs English mustard
2 heaped tbs brown sugar
1 heaped tsp runny honey
Pork (I used 6 shoulder steaks at £3.33 but loin steaks or chops work just as well)

image

 

METHOD:
Mix up the marinade in a large lidded tupperware box.

image

Add the meat, put the lid on (make sure it’s secure!) and shake.

Open the box and check that every portion is coated in the marinade. If not, move them about a bit and then give it all another shake.

image

You can do this first thing in the morning, then pop them back in the fridge til you’re ready to cook. All the mess is contained and the lid will keep the flies off if you’re cooking outside.

 
 

Sticky BBQ chicken

INGREDIENTS:
2.5 tbs rice wine vinegar
2.5 tbs soy sauce
1/2 tsp ground ginger
1/2 tsp minced garlic
1/2 heaped tbs tomato puree
1/2 tbs brown sugar
Plenty of black pepper
10 chicken portions (I used drumsticks at £3.49 but thighs, wings or mini fillets will be just as tasty)

image

 

METHOD:
Exactly the same as above. Mix up the marinade in a tupperware box.

image

Add the meat, lid on, shake. Done and ready to cook once you’ve fired up the barbecue.

image

 
 

Cheat’s potato salad

I spent years thinking I hated potato salad until I made my own. Turns out it’s really tasty! This is a real cheat recipe. When you’re organising a big family barbecue and there’s a thousand other bits to prepare, it’s good to have a cheap and cheerful side dish that takes minimal effort.

 

INGREDIENTS:
750g of new potatoes (I used organic salad potatoes at £1.49 but any will do)
1 heaped tbs soured cream
1 heaped tbs mayonnaise (£1.00)
1/2 tsp paprika
Cracked black pepper
Chopped parsley or chives (I bought a growing parsley plant for 99p)

 

METHOD:
I don’t bother peeling the spuds; way too fiddly and I prefer them with the skin on anyway. Boil them for 10 minutes or so until nicely soft. Drain and leave to cool while you get on with your other jobs.

Halve any larger potatoes and put them all in a large dish or bowl. If you want to minimise the washing up, do this bit in the serving dish! Add the soured cream, mayo, pepper and paprika and gently fold it all together until every potato has a good covering. You don’t want to smash up the spuds so be a bit careful with them. Chop the herbs beforehand or tear them directly over the top.

image

You can clingfilm this and stick it in the fridge for later. So easy and looks like it took a lot of time!

image

 
 

This is a sponsored post. I was given £80 in Morrisons vouchers in return for giving an honest review of their produce. All opinions and recipes shared are my own.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “The big Bank Holiday barbecue

  1. Model mummy May 6, 2014 at 07:26 Reply

    I can’t wait to see what other meals are on the planner this week.
    Thanks for the pitta salad recipe – sounds yum!

  2. tinabakesbread May 6, 2014 at 16:06 Reply

    Don’t you just love a BBQ when it’s nice weather? We eat outside as much as possible. The marinades you posted are printed and in my Lucy’s List file! You have some great tips for simple and wonderful meals without breaking the bank – love that 🙂

    • The Pie Patch May 6, 2014 at 16:07 Reply

      Hahaha! You have a file?! How funny! Thank you. I do love cooking outside. And coz I do the cooking, husband has to clean the grill! 😀

  3. kateonthinice (@kateonthinice) May 6, 2014 at 20:15 Reply

    Love how the recipes can be made in advance. Commenting for myself and on behalf of BritMums and thanking you for taking part

  4. […] mustard glazed pork loin steaks, jacket spuds and braised red […]

Leave a Reply

