Taste test: Chocolate hot cross buns

Felt the need to do a taste test between these two. Because I can. Marks and Spencer toffee fudge and chocolate hot cross buns versus Ocado chocolate hot cross buns. Game on. Step up. Bring it.

image

Price

The Ocado ones are two packs of four for £2.20.

The Marks and Spencer ones are two packs of four for £2.50. However, the M&S ones are slightly larger and thicker.

So that’s probably a draw.

image

Appearance

I quite like the dark chocolate colour of the Ocado buns. But most of my pack had whizzed under the cross-squirting device at speed coz their crosses were off-centre. Only one had a proper cross on top. And it was hard to see the chocolate chips inside coz they were the same colour as the bun. Most displeasing.

The M&S ones had an even distribution of chocolate chips and a good sticky glaze on top.

M&S wins.

image

And so to the toasting. Phwooaaaar! Look at the rack on that!

image

Taste

Down to the nitty gritty. Taste.

The Ocado bun was lovely and soft. The chocolate chips had gone all warm and gooey. I couldn’t taste any spices or much chocolate in the bun itself. Husband disagreed and thought it was very chocolatey.

The M&S bun was very sweet. I could taste the chocolate and the fudge and the spices. Husband disagreed and thought it wasn’t very chocolatey.

image

Conclusion

I am aware that many of you believe chocolate in hot cross buns are sacrilege. Boo yah sucks to you all. I’m not Christian (does that make any difference?!). I don’t like dried fruit – raisins, sultanas, currants, p-p-peel (blurgh). I’ve had many Christmases without pudding, cake or mince pies, and Easters without hot cross buns or Simnel cake. So I for one rejoice in the dirty heathen chocolate alternative. So there.

Back to the business at hand, I preferred the M&S bun. Husband preferred the Ocado bun. It’s a draw! So that was utterly pointless. Apart from the fact I got to eat yummy toasty hot cross buns. All in the name of science, of course.

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Taste test: Chocolate hot cross buns

  1. tiasmum12 April 19, 2014 at 09:05 Reply

    Such a hard life you lead now you’re a blogger Lucy!
    Love this post, I didn’t know such delights excisted, *head in sand clearly*

    • The Pie Patch April 19, 2014 at 09:27 Reply

      They weren’t freebies sadly. Had to buy them myself with actual money. It’s a sacrifice I am prepared make for my readers. Hahaha! 😉

      • tiasmum12 April 19, 2014 at 10:01

        Lol I knew that! I meant the trouble of having to taste test them for us must have been hardwork! 😉 xx

      • The Pie Patch April 19, 2014 at 10:09

        It’s a struggle. I just don’t know how I carry on, some days!

      • tiasmum12 April 19, 2014 at 10:11

        Hmm yes, I can imagine. *pats head and offers a shoulder to cry on*

  2. stellabranch April 19, 2014 at 17:33 Reply

    I did buy M&S Hot Cross Buns, but I’m a traditionalist…no chocolate buns for me! They were delicious!

    • The Pie Patch April 19, 2014 at 17:42 Reply

      I do buy traditional for The Husband & kids. It’s just me who doesn’t like them! Thanks for reading. 🙂

Leave a Reply

