Maille culinary challenge: Part 1

I must admit when I was asked to take part in the Maille Culinary Challenge my mind was a bit of a blank. I had to choose two ingredients from a very fancy list of Maille products and include them in a recipe of my own creation.

I picked the fresh wholegrain mustard – easy, I thought, coz it’s used in so many dishes. I also chose the extra small gherkins. I really didn’t think this one through. I like cocktail gherkins, cornichons, or whatever you call them. I ate a whole jar in one sitting when I was pregnant. But how the heck do you include them in a recipe?! Surely you just eat them?!

image

They came beautifully packaged. So far, so French.

I decided to do my recipe for stroganoff. It’s not exactly an original dish. It’s been done many times before. My version is probably a bit of a mash up of all the recipes I’ve read over the years – a splash of Delia, a dollop of Jamie and squirt of me.

I use beef skirt from my butcher. It’s a cheap cut and can be cooked very quickly or very slowly. Either way, it won’t go chewy or tough. And the butcher diced it for me coz he’s a helpful chap.

Ingredients:

image

Pickles
1 onion, thinly sliced
1 handful of Maille extra small gherkins
1 handful of fresh parsley

Stroganoff
250g mushrooms, sliced
3 tsp minced garlic
1lb diced beef skirt
1 heaped tbs paprika
Small glass of dry wine
Beef stock pot
1 tbs Maille fresh wholegrain mustard
1 tbs lemon juice
Small pot soured cream

To serve
Buttered rye bread

Method:

You need to do the pickles first so they have a chance to mingle. Put the sliced onion in a bowl with the gherkins and a good splash of the vinegar from the jar. I sliced some of the larger gherkins but you don’t have to.

The Maille gherkins have a handy little plastic gizmo in the jar to lift them out of the vinegar. No vinegar hands!

image

There are some tasty little onions in the jar too but we don’t need them for this recipe.

Tear the parsley into the bowl then give the whole thing a good mix and scrunch so that the onions are well coated in vinegar. Set aside.

image

Now the stroganoff. Heat some oil in a large pan on a fairly high heat. Then fry off the mushrooms until the liquid has gone. Add the garlic and beef and brown off.

image

Add the paprika and allowed to cook for a minute or two. Pour in the wine and leave it bubbling so the alcohol burns off. Reduce the liquid by half. Lower the heat then stir in the beef stock, lemon juice and soured cream. Finally add a dollop of Maille mustard.

image

Leave it to warm through for a few more minutes while you butter the rye bread.

image

You’re ready to serve!

image

I was not paid for this post. I was sent two Maille products to use free of charge as my entry into the Maille Culinary Challenge competition.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

