Peanut Hottie: A review

I’ll be honest, I’d never heard of Peanut Hottie until I was sent a jar to review. I like peanuts. And I like peanut butter. But do I like them in a hot drink? Err … I wasn’t overly convinced. But, you know, I’ll give it a whirl.

image

My husband is the big coffee drinker in our house. He’s a secondary school teacher so pretty much survives on caffeine and red ink alone. But he’s not particularly fussy when it comes to brands. He’d drink swamp water as long as it was hot and came in a mug. Anyway, he had the first taste of Peanut Hottie. He added five teaspoons to a mug and stirred in just-boiled water from the kettle.

I told him to look natural so I could take some photos. The results were … umm …

image

image

image

image

Yeah. He’s no Kate Moss, is he.

But he liked it. He said he wouldn’t drink several cups a day like he does with coffee. He said it’s rich and sweet. And more of an indulgent drink. A treat, like hot chocolate.

I had a go at adding it to some cookies. I’ve had peanut cookies before and wondered whether this would work well as a substitute. One of my lovely Twitter chums, Sue, sent me a cookie recipe book. It has a couple of ideas for peanut butter cookies. I chose this one:

image

It was a bit of an experiment to see how the Peanut Hottie fared. Here goes…

Ingredients

227g crunchy peanut butter
75g unsalted butter (room temp, diced)

NB I swapped these ingredients for a 250g block of butter and 5 heaped teaspoons of Peanut Hottie.

90g caster sugar
50g demerara sugar
1 large egg
150g self-raising flour
250g jam

image

Method

Pre-heat the oven to 180 degrees and line two baking sheets with baking parchment.

Mix the butter and peanut stuff together in a large bowl until creamy.

image

Even at this stage, the nutty smell was gorgeous.

Add the different sugars and mix again. Beat in the egg then sift in the flour. At this point I was slightly concerned. My recipe said I should have a stiff dough. But mine was quite sticky.

I was supposed to roll it in my hands into walnut-sized balls. This wasn’t going to be possible. So I spooned it onto the paper instead with a deep sense of foreboding…

image

Bake for 10-12 minutes until cooked but not browned. Use a palette knife to transfer to a cooling rack. Erm …

image

Oh. Right. Not quite as planned. The mixture was too wet, as I thought. It was really hard to get these off the paper. They were too thin. And … wrong.

image

What a mess! Something in the substitution didn’t work. So we had to abandon sandwiching them together with jam. But they tasted good!

image

So it didn’t really work in this recipe. It might be good mixed into a cheesecake though. Or a milkshake. And as a hot drink it’s pretty ace.

My one criticism? There’s some weird stuff listed in the ingredients. Dipotassium phosphate anyone? So maybe not the healthiest or most natural drink in the world (despite being only 83 calories per serving). But in moderation, it’s a tasty treat.

image

Peanut Hottie is available at Sainsbury’s or Waitrose for £2.99.

I was not paid for this blog post but I was sent a free jar of Peanut Hottie in exchange for an honest review

Tagged: , , ,

2 thoughts on “Peanut Hottie: A review

  1. Model mummy April 12, 2014 at 21:30 Reply

    It is lovely to see your family in pics! Great review as usual and thank you for my mention in a previous one. I have been reading!
    Xx

    • The Pie Patch April 12, 2014 at 23:40 Reply

      Aw, they’re a funny bunch of humans. Thanks for reading! 🙂

Leave a Reply

