Cooking with kids: naan bread pizza

First off I need to say, this wasn’t my idea. I saw another blogger mention it on Twitter ages ago but I can’t remember who it was. It might’ve been Becky from Munchies and Munchkins. Anyhoo, I thought I’d give it a go with my own little cherubs.

I’m quite fussy about pizza. I’m not massively keen on shop bought ones. They never taste nice to me. And takeaway pizza costs a fortune and is hideously unhealthy. We’ve done the whole homemade pizza thing before but I made my own dough and took quite a bit of time. In theory it seemed this might be an easier option on days when I need to chuck tea together in minimal time. And it’s a fun thing for bigger kids to do while they’re on school holidays.

Ingredients:

4 naan breads
8 tbs passata
Cheese (I used a super lazy ready-grated mix of mozzarella and mild cheddar)
Any other toppings you fancy (peppers, sweetcorn, mushrooms, ham, salami)

image

Method:

Umm, yeah. You just sort of … throw it all on… preferably with the bread on the bottom.

What? You want details? Oh.

Well, put the bread on the baking tray before you start. Helps to contain the cheese and avoids throwing the toppings everywhere trying to move it later.

Spread a layer of passata on first to help the toppings stick.

image

Then add your favourite toppings. My older one made a face with hers. The younger one added everything. In a massive pile in the middle. I might’ve spread it out a bit while she wasn’t looking.

image

Add the cheese last. All the cheese. Cheesy cheesy cheese. CHEEEEEEEEEEEESE.

image

Then bake for 10 minutes at 200 degrees. Et voila!

image

Easy peasy pizza. Yum!

image

Tagged: , , , ,

8 thoughts on “Cooking with kids: naan bread pizza

  1. Mandy Wooding April 9, 2014 at 20:01 Reply

    ya know what might be nice? split the pitta and slap a lid on the top – cant rem what the name of those closed pizzas is but….CALZONE!!!!!! would be2 fun maybe!

    • The Pie Patch April 9, 2014 at 20:05 Reply

      I’ve done pitta pizzas before & the pitta goes too hard & chewy. Not sure a naan would split easily would it? Hmm… there must be an easy way to do calzone though…

    • The Pie Patch April 9, 2014 at 20:20 Reply

      That clever egg at Munchies & Munchkins said tortilla wraps might work for calzone. Won’t be as doughy but might be worth a go?

  2. Heidi June 5, 2014 at 10:13 Reply

    Last time the wee ones and I made pizza, I heard a drip-drip-drip coming from the oven, opened it up to find mozzarella puddles on the bottom taking every other topping with it. Be ware the mozzarella, it spreads!

    • The Pie Patch June 5, 2014 at 10:31 Reply

      Eeeeek! Oh no! Bet that was fun to clean 😦 This is why I NEVER cook pizza directly on the oven shelf!

  3. pambracewell July 18, 2014 at 18:47 Reply

    Have just made this for youngests tea, he’s 13, and i quote “Mum, this is awsome, best thing ever”.
    Originally when told what was for tea he made that crinkly nosed face and made a revolted noise, i think he thought i was mad.
    I think we will call that a success, and Sam duly converted. 🙂

    • The Pie Patch July 18, 2014 at 18:53 Reply

      Blimey! High praise indeed from a teenager! Thanks so much for letting me know. 😊

  4. […] MONDAY: naan bread pizza […]

Leave a Reply

