Easter hand art with kids

So my eldest has broken up from school now for the Easter holidays. I’ve also got the toddler at home as usual. Husband is still at work for another week so we’re home alone. And it’s raining. We took the bus to the library but it was shut. It’s too wet for the park. Disappointment all round. What to do?

Lily has got a great book that shows you how to do pictures by drawing around your hands. It’s a really ace book for kids coz the diagrams are so easy to follow. One of the pictures is a rabbit so we decided to make Easter cards.

image

We’re not Christians but for us Easter is a time for our family to celebrate the arrival of spring … with vast quantities of chocolate. But seriously. Spring always feels like a fresh start. We moved into our house three and a half years ago and we try to decorate one room every Easter, in the hope that we’ll eventually get the whole house done. This year will be the turn of the upstairs bog! We also sort out the veggie patch, sew seeds and tidy up the garden. Easter is a really positive time of year for us.

I digress. So on this day of April showers we got all the paints out. I always put a big splash mat on the table and the kids wear aprons. I can only bear messy play if there are strict controls on the mess itself. Or if someone else is cleaning up, obviously. Some parents love sticky gunky activities. I’m not one of them. But I know it’s good fun for them so I endure it. Under sufferance.

image

The eldest is seven years old so she took control of her own endeavour. I helped the two year-old draw around her pudgy little fists then set her loose on the paint. Happy days.

We followed the book for some of the rabbits. For the rest we did a sort of devil horns rock fist thingy. You know what I mean.

image

Aren’t they … erm … special! But it kept them quiet for half an hour on a rainy day with minimal effort from me. That’s a win in my book.

Tagged: , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Easter hand art with kids

  1. tiasmum12 April 8, 2014 at 09:07 Reply

    I love them! What a fab idea, I bet they loved doing it too. What a great idea doing a room every Easter, gets a bit expensive otherwise doesn’t it!

    • The Pie Patch April 8, 2014 at 09:13 Reply

      It was funny seeing Lily carefully painting her rabbits ever so carefully next to Iris splatting paint everywhere!

      • tiasmum12 April 8, 2014 at 09:16

        Haha! Yes I bet 🙂 I’ll wait to try this one till next year I reckon!

Leave a Reply

