Lucy’s List – April (week 1)

I should’ve published this at the end of last week but other things took over so here it is a few days late.

I went on an amazing food tour of the East End with Eating London on Saturday. I am already halfway through writing the review of my day out. But I’ve decided to do a whole extra blog post about the incredible street art we saw in Shoreditch. It really was inspiring and I took so many photos I want to share with all my creative readers. So look out for that sometime over the next week or two.

I also met someone who had heard of The Pie Patch! It was surreal to think that a random person I’d never met had read so much about me. But I also felt a bit squiffy inside to think that I have real actual readers who exist out there in the real world. I may have blushed. So I won’t name you here but if you’re reading this, “HELLO!” You know who you are and it was lovely to meet you!

Mother’s Day was awesome. Because I was out all day Saturday, the husband was with both girls for the whole day on his own – a rare occurrence. He wisely used the time to get organised! I woke up to a huge card, made by my seven year-old:

image

Adorable! I was treated to a huge new storage box full of yarn (he knows me too well!); and a wonderful breakfast in bed of banana and toffee pancakes with coconut yoghurt (eldest suffered a minor burn, youngest bonked her chin and husband gained a few more grey hairs!).

image

They’d all been to town and bought everything they needed for a roast dinner – beef, spuds, Yorkshires, cabbage, broccoli and proper gravy. He spent all day cooking and it was lovely that they’d all put so much effort in. Finally I was presented with this monstrosity of a cake!

image

Yes. Those are giant Parma Violets all over the top. And that isn’t icing. It’s solid chocolate. It weighed as much as a small child and was impossible to cut. But it warmed my cockles to know they’d made it just for me and the kids were so proud of themselves.

I hope any mums reading this had a good day too. And if you don’t celebrate Mother’s Day, be sure to treat yourself to a little something once in a while, coz you do a cracking job and deserve to feel special.

So here is my meal plan for the current week. I hope to blog my recipe for sticky belly pork this week. It’s good!

THURSDAY: veggie nut roasts, french fries and sweetcorn

FRIDAY: chicken korma, paratha, naan and poppadoms with mango chutney

SATURDAY: Eating London food tour

SUNDAY: Mother’s Day (The Husband done good!)

image

MONDAY: sticky belly pork, sweet potato mash and corn-on-the-cob

TUESDAY: fish fingers, waffles and mixed veg

WEDNESDAY: sweet and sour chicken, brown rice and prawn crackers

Tagged: , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Lucy’s List – April (week 1)

  1. tinabakesbread March 31, 2014 at 17:04 Reply

    I know you will save and treasure those cards forever. What a lovely family you have. Looks like you had a great time and some very good eats!

    • The Pie Patch March 31, 2014 at 17:17 Reply

      It was a weekend full of good food & people I love. In danger of sounding a bit soppy now. I don’t usually do soppy!

Leave a Reply

