Crab and prawn spring rolls (makes 6)

Thought I’d have a bash at making my own spring rolls. The big chunky ones. Seemed a good idea at the time. I’d used filo pastry before. And I thought I could adapt my recipe for crab cakes to make a suitable filling. How hard can it be? Hahahahaha! It was a tad more fiddly than I anticipated.

I meant to buy bean sprouts to give the filling some crunch but forgot. I used some leftover iceberg lettuce instead that would otherwise have ended up in the compost bin. Now, I know that lettuce wilts easily. And I also know it gives off a lot of water. So it probably wasn’t the best thing to use. So the moral of the story is definitely use bean sprouts.

Having said all that, they tasted good so I’m going to share the recipe with you anyway. Make of it what you will.

Ingredients:

1 packet filo pastry sheets
2 tins of white crab meat
100g cooked prawns, chopped
Bunch of spring onions,
1 heaped tsp minced garlic
1 heaped tsp minced ginger
1/2 small tin sweetcorn
1 tin of beanshoots (definitely NOT lettuce)
3 anchovy fillets, chopped
2 eggs
Chopped red chilli (optional)

Method:

Make sure the crab, bean shoots and sweetcorn are well drained. The prawns need to be thoroughly defrosted. Pat them dry. You don’t want the filling to be too sloppy.

Put all of the ingredients except the pastry in a big bowl. Mix throughly but don’t be too rough with it. You want to keep the texture. You can do this ahead of time and leave it in the fridge.

image

Only assemble the rolls when you’re ready to cook them. If you leave them sitting around for any length of time, they’ll just go soggy.

Put a frying pan on to heat up with enough oil to cover the bottom. Now you can unwrap and unroll the filo sheets. If you open the packet too early the sheets will dry out and crack.

Place a good amount of mixture on one end of the first sheet of pastry, leaving a gap around the edge.

image

The pastry is very delicate and will tear easily. Carefully roll it over a couple of times before folding in the edges.

image

Then finish rolling to the end. Put it to one side while you make the others or, preferably, put it straight into the frying pan to cook.

image

Fry them for a few minutes each side until the filling is cooked through and the outside is crispy and golden.

image

And that’s it! I served mine with veggie fried rice and sweet chilli sauce.

image

(L)

Tagged: , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Crab and prawn spring rolls (makes 6)

  1. tinabakesbread March 30, 2014 at 03:17 Reply

    Oh, that looks brilliant. I love egg rolls, but I never have luck with FILO. I make a mess of it. Looks great. You all are inspiring.

    • The Pie Patch March 30, 2014 at 07:26 Reply

      The last one I made tore a lot. I had to roll it to try & seal the gaps!

Leave a Reply

