Beef and mushroom pie (serves 4-6)

I had a mahoosive bit of brisket from the butcher this month. Last time I bought it I made gorgeous pulled beef using the “mothership roast” recipe from Save with Jamie. Needless to say, it was tremendous and the leftovers lasted all week.

Anyway, I used the same recipe for this. I cooked the brisket on a low heat for four hours. If I’d had more time I’d have left it another hour so the meat was even softer. Then I used the pan juices and the onions I’d rested the meat on as a base for the gravy.

Now I appreciate this is a very slow way to make a pie. You could use beef skirt instead which is pretty cheap and you can cook it more quickly without it getting tough. Or use leftovers from your Sunday roast. Or just leave this until a lazy weekend, rather than a weekday, then you can leave the brisket cooking all day and really make it worthwhile.

I also used shortcrust pastry but you could use puff if you prefer. SHOP BOUGHT. I know! So sue me. Basically, tweak this recipe however you want to. Pie is simply too good not to indulge your every whim.

Ingredients:

Slow-roasted brisket with mustard and rosemary
2 onions, sliced
4 carrots, peeled and sliced
3 flat mushrooms, finely diced
1 punnet chestnut/button mushrooms, sliced
Packet of ready-rolled pastry
1 egg (to wash the pastry)

For the gravy:
Large glass of red wine
Water
Meat juices
1 tbs cornflour mixed with 2 tbs water
(Alternatively you could just use gravy granules or a tub of fresh shop-bought stuff. It won’t be as tasty but it’ll do perfectly well)

Method:

Get the packet of pastry out of the fridge and leave your meat to rest while you make the rest of the filling. Pre-heat the oven to 180 degrees.

If you are using raw onions (rather than the ones left in the roasting tin) start gently softening them with the carrots in a little oil, while you prep all the mushrooms. My little helper sliced up the chestnut mushrooms for me.

image

Add the mushrooms to the pan and leave to cook down.

image

Now put the roasting tin with all the juices and soggy onions on a medium heat. Pour in the wine and give it a good scrape with your wooden spoon. You want all the crusty stuff off the bottom to flavour your gravy. Leave it to simmer for a few minutes to burn off the alcohol before adding a good amount of water and bring to the boil before reducing to a simmer.

image

While the gravy is simmering, chop up the beef into bite size chunks. I only used half of my joint. The rest will make another meal later in the week. It really is very good value for money!

image

Add the beef to the gravy as well as your softened carrots and mushrooms. Finally add the cornflour mixture and give it a really good stir to avoid lumps while the gravy thickens.

Once you have the consistency you want, tip the whole lot into a pie dish.

image

Unroll the pastry and gently place it over the dish and make a little hole in the middle for the hot air to escape. Now try your best to make it look half decent. As you can see, I fail miserably at this bit! I pinched the edges with finger and thumb, then used the leftover bits to make leaves. Yes. I know. It really is a thing of beauty.

image

Give it all an egg wash and put the whole dish onto a baking tray just in case it bubbles over. And it’s ready for the oven. I cooked mine for half an hour but you’ll know it’s ready when it looks like this:

image

It’s a bit wonky and … let’s say “rustic”, shall we? But it’s the taste that counts and you won’t be disappointed.

image

(L)

Tagged: , , , , , ,

One thought on “Beef and mushroom pie (serves 4-6)

  1. […] beef and mushroom pie, green cabbage and roast […]

Leave a Reply

