Hobbycraft

I recently had my very first ever trip to Hobbycraft. I know! I don’t quite know how I got to 33 years of age without visiting one before!

And oh my! It’s a magical place full of special things and I covet them all. My Auntie Mandy kindly agreed to run me down to our nearest store one rainy Sunday so I could take advantage of their “3 for 2” offer on yarn. She treated me to these beautiful buttons as a late birthday present:

image

I’m not even sure I actually want to use them. I just want to stare at them and occasionally shake the jar coz they make a nice sound. She also bought me a Fry’s Turkish Delight to eat on the way home. BEST. DAY. EVER.

I bought quite a lot of yarn but could easily have emptied the shelves. And it’s not as if my children neeeeeed to eat for the rest of the month is it?!

Anyway my eldest child was in for a treat because by pure coincidence a couple of weeks later, Hobbycraft kindly sent me this “My First Crochet Kit” to review:

image

Funnily enough I’d actually looked at this in the store and filed it away as a possible future birthday present. Lily is always fascinated when I’m crocheting and asks lots of questions about what I’m making. She’s asked me several times to teach her to crochet. The kit arrived just in time for the half term holidays so this gave me the perfect opportunity to pass on a self-taught skill to my own child.

It’s a lovely little kit containing a 4mm hook, eight balls of Rico creative cotton aran yarn (which I secretly want to pilfer for myself), a neat little booklet with some basic instructions and a good selection of patterns for small projects. It’s even got the needle necessary for weaving in the loose ends.

image

It’s really handy that they’ve included enough yarn to make every project pictured in the book. I’ve had kids’ craft kits before that aren’t so comprehensive.

So we sat down and started practising the basics – casting on, chain, single and double crochet.

image

I referred to the diagrams a couple of times to reinforce what I was showing her. Because I already crochet myself, it’s hard to judge how easy these instructions are for a total beginner. I must admit, Lily found the cotton yarn a bit fiddly as it naturally splits quite easily and, as a novice, she was all fingers and thumbs. An acrylic or wool blend double knit might have been better.

image

But she persevered and soon had a lovely row of single crochet to be proud of!

image

She really enjoyed the challenge of learning something new and is eager to get onto a proper project and has picked out the pattern from the book that she wants to try first. And it was a really lovely experience for me too, being able to have a bit of bonding time with her and pass on something which will hopefully be useful to her throughout her life.

image

Now I just need to palm off my cheapo acrylic onto her so that I can keep the decent cotton stuff in my own personal stash!

Oh, and they have 20 per cent off EVERYTHING in-store and online until Sunday 23rd February, using the code: HTHCTH14. I’ve just ordered a load of paints to re-stock the girls’ messy craft box!

I did not receive any payment for this post. However, the Rico My First Crochet Kit was given to me free of charge in exchange for my honest review.

(L)

Tagged: , , ,

8 thoughts on “Hobbycraft

  1. mandy February 17, 2014 at 11:13 Reply

    WONDERFUL

  2. Mummy Glitzer February 17, 2014 at 13:50 Reply

    I really want to learn to crochet.

    Sounds like a lovely time you had with Lily.

    • The Pie Patch February 17, 2014 at 14:00 Reply

      Do it! It should come with a warning though coz it’s so addictive!

  3. tinabakesbread February 17, 2014 at 22:14 Reply

    That is such a lovely photo of you and your daughter crocheting. Priceless.
    Wish I could read the instructions in those books and actually understand them. I can only do two type stitches and those are because my Nana showed me how. If I have actual hands on instruction I can manage but those books….can’t figure them.

    • The Pie Patch February 17, 2014 at 22:18 Reply

      Thank you! She’s all fingers & thumbs but is sticking with it.

      Have you tried YouTube if you prefer hands-on tutorials? That’s how I learnt to crochet. Just search for whatever stitch you want to learn & a whole load of videos will come up. You can watch, pause & rewind as many times as you like. I found it much easier than trying to decipher a book.

      • tinabakesbread February 18, 2014 at 21:36

        Oh, now that’s brilliant. Never thought about Youtube. I was just there watching Robert Downey Jr sing a duet with Sting. Thanks so much for the idea. If I am successful I will link to your blog post here, give you all the credit :0

      • The Pie Patch February 18, 2014 at 22:37

        Thank you & good luck. Let us know how you get on!

Leave a Reply

