Lentil and chickpea curry (serves 4-6)

I promised a couple of twitter buddies a veggie curry this month. So here it is!

You can make it as hot as you like by adjusting the curry powder or adding freshly chopped or dried powdered chilli. I don’t really enjoy very hot curries and the children usually eat with us so I make mine fairly mild. But I do think something quite bland like chickpeas needs a good punch of flavour to give it some oomph.

You can, of course, add any vegetables you fancy. I didn’t have much left at the end of the week so had to make do with what I had. I think the mushrooms are a good idea though, as they add a bit of texture to a fairly soft dish.

I am not an expert in Indian food. I do not claim for a second that this recipe is in any way authentic. It’s just something I cobbled together. I made up the spice mix as I went along. I think it tastes alright.

Ingredients

2 tsp minced garlic
1 tsp minced ginger
1 tsp coriander seeds
1 tbs curry powder
1 tbs garam masala
1 tsp ground cumin
1 tsp fennel seeds
1 tbs grain mustard
1 tbs tomato puree
1 stock pot/cube
1 tin chickpeas
1 tin lentils
1 tin chopped tomatoes
1 onion, chopped
Handful frozen peas
Handful of mushrooms, quartered

image

image

Method

Gently soften the onion in a little oil, then turn up the heat a little and fry the mushrooms. Next add most of the spices (except the mustard and tomato puree) and allow them to sizzle for a few minutes without burning.

image

Add the tinned tomatoes, lentils, chickpeas, stock cube and tomato puree. I used the water from the tinned pulses too but make sure you buy the sort that don’t have any added salt or added nasties. Bring it to the boil, reduce the heat and leave to simmer for 20 minutes or so until the liquid has reduced.

image

Finally, add the mustard and peas and leave for another five minutes or until it’s the thickness you like.

image

I served it with brown rice, naan bread and mango chutney.

image

image

(L)

Tagged: , , , , , ,

One thought on “Lentil and chickpea curry (serves 4-6)

  1. […] great source of protein on meat-free days. I’ve blogged my recipes for lentil cottage pie and chickpea curry before. But they are also a fab ingredient for bulking out dishes when there isn’t quite […]

Leave a Reply

