Burns’ Night: Cranachan

I’ve already blogged about our family tradition of celebrating Burns’ Night and cooking the haggis here.

Cranachan is a traditional Scottish dessert I discovered on a trip back to Edinburgh with the husband many years ago before the children and the mortgage happened. It’s not too heavy and great fun for the kids to help with.

I’m afraid my quantities are ridiculously vague. I don’t measure anything for this recipe. I just guess at how much I need to fill four small tumblers. And let’s face it, if you aim for too much it’s a win all round!

Ingredients:

Punnet of raspberries
Runny honey
Oats (normal porridge oats will do)
Brown sugar
Double cream
Dram of whisky (optional)

image

Method:

Pre-heat the oven to 180 degrees. Spread the oats out on a tray and sprinkle with brown sugar. Toast them in the oven for 10 minutes. Keep an eye on them so they don’t burn or weld themselves to the baking tray.

image

Mash half the raspberries with a fork. This is a fun bit for the kiddiwinks to do.

image

Whip up the cream. I use double out of sheer laziness. It’s naturally a bit thicker so gives me a head start with the whisk!

At this point you can add a good slug of whisky, if you like. This year I just gave it a good squirt of runny honey, which is more child-friendly!

image

Fold in half of the squashed raspberries so it looks all swirly and pretty.

image

Now it’s just a case of layering up all the bits. I put some whole raspberries in the bottom of each glass with some honey and oats, then a layer of cream, then the rest of the squashed raspberries, with some more whole ones and more oats. Then another dollop of cream. I top it off with the last of the whole raspberries, oats and a final drizzle of honey.

image

But to be honest, it turns out a different every year so make it up as you go! It’s sweet and a bit squinty all at the same time. It’s soft and crunchy at the same time. If you used whisky there’ll be a lovely warming heat in the aftertaste.

image

Happy Burns’ Night!

image

(L)

Tagged: , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Burns’ Night: Cranachan

  1. […] And if you have room for pudding, my recipe for cranachan is here! […]

  2. tinabakesbread January 26, 2014 at 18:36 Reply

    Lucky family, I totally want this dessert!

  3. […] Cranachan […]

Leave a Reply

